Thread: Monitor Resolution Issue (Generic, not Ubuntu-specific)

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Monitor Resolution Issue (Generic, not Ubuntu-specific)

[I thought I would post this here since I didn't want register at some other tech forum for a single post.]

Hi there. I have a Samsung SyncMaster 933 which was running at 1360x768 resolution since installing Maverick, until yesterday. This is the case with both Ubuntu (10.10) and the XP installation in the dual-boot. This happened once before, maybe a couple of weeks ago, but it set itself right somehow almost immediately.

The Monitor Preferences window does not recognise my monitor and is shown as unknown. Despite the fact that the correct resolution (1360x768(16:9)) and refresh rate (60 Hz) are shown, I still see one inch-wide black bars on either side of the display.

Yesterday, while searching for solutions, I came across the xrandr command in one of the threads here. Running it almost magically brought back the correct resolution, but after a restart of the computer this morning, things are back to square one.

I've update my graphics driver from the Intel site using their online driver update utility. (I did this while booted into XP; I suppose I won't need to this separately for each OS.)

Here are some other pertinent information that may be of use.

[Driver details obtained after installing update]

Code:
    navneeth@home:~$ lspci | grep VGA
    00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82G33/G31 Express Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 10)
    Code:
    navneeth@home:~$ xrandr
    Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1360 x 768, maximum 4096 x 4096
    VGA1 connected 1360x768+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 0mm x 0mm
       1360x768       59.8* 
       1024x768       60.0  
       800x600        60.3     56.2  
       848x480        60.0  
       640x480        59.9     59.9

I hope someone here can help bring this thing back to normal.

Regards,