Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Advice before installing?

Beans

Exclamation Advice before installing?

So I decided to go out and buy a brand new system.

I bought the parts and have now put it all together into what I hope will be a pretty good machine for the next 2 years.

I have a couple ASUS parts, and would appreciate any advice you guys might have... more specifically, has anyone encountered problems with any of the following parts:

MoBo : Asus M5A97
    V-Card : Asus EAH6450

I'll also be using an AMD X2 560 Phenom II (black edition), 500gig WesternDigital HD, Kingston RAM (2x 2gig DDR3) and an LG DVD-R.

I'll be using the 64 bit version of Ubuntu 11.04 so if anyone has come across issues with these parts... please let me know before I take the plunge please!

Thanks guys!

Beans

Re: Advice before installing?

Seriously? Nobody at all... ?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

I've been using 64-bit Ubuntu on a Phenom II X2 for two years now, with good results. However, I have a Gigabyte motherboard and Nvidia video card, so I can't comment on your motherboard or video card.

Sometimes the very newest motherboards have an Ethernet adapter which is not yet supported.

Beans

The video card is based on the Radeon 6450, if that helps anyone else.

Will you be using a CD to install, or a USB flash drive? If you go the USB flash route, bear in mind that many motherboards will treat USB flash as a hard drive. When installing Ubuntu, GRUB by default will install to the first hard drive (sda), and a problem can arise since, at least in my experience, the USB drive gets assigned as sda while the actual hard drive is sdb. You have to remember to tell GRUB to install to sdb instead of accepting the default.

Beans

Yes the V-Card is a Radeon 6450 by ASUS.

I'll be installing to the hard drive from a CD, but thanks for thinking ahead of the game and mentioning the possibilities.