Thread: GUI does not start on boot

Beans

GUI does not start on boot

Hello,
    I have Windows XP/Ubuntu 11.04 (upgraded to 11.04 from old Ubuntu versions) dual boot installed on my laptop. Yesterday, all of a sudden, my GRUB stopped loading. I kept getting error 24.
    Based on a bit of searching on google, I made a bootable USB drive and booted my laptop using this. When I tried to access the partition on which Ubuntu was installed, I would get a message saying that the disk could not be mounted. I tried re-installing GRUB, but I still got the same error 24. After a little more searching on the net, I did a disk check fsck and after doing the suggested changes, I finally got GRUB to load. I can boot into XP and Ubuntu, but the GUI does not load in Ubuntu. I have used Ubuntu for a while, but I am not experienced enough to be able to operate without the GUI.
    I need to extract my Evolution work e-mails that were stored on this partition. I was stupid enough to forget to back these up. All my other data I had backed up less than a week ago. I found out that these should be stored in the /.local/share directory, but I cannot see the file. Maybe the disk check corrections I made have deleted or corrupted some data. I am getting the feeling that I should have made this post before doing that.
    Can anybody please help?
    Regards,
    Sameet.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

Re: GUI does not start on boot

Quote Originally Posted by ssn116 View Post
    Hello,
    I have Windows XP/Ubuntu 11.04 (upgraded to 11.04 from old Ubuntu versions) dual boot installed on my laptop. Yesterday, all of a sudden, my GRUB stopped loading. I kept getting error 24.