Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Absolute beginner to Server Hosting

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

Absolute beginner to Server Hosting

Hi, i have been interested in starting up a website of my own, but i want to host it on my own personal server.
    unfortunately i have absolutely no experience with servers, and i dont even know where to begin.
    i have done some reading up and i think my choice will be a LAMP server.
    now to the question, lets assume that i know nothing but html, css, JS, etc. where would be the best place to start learning about servers, how to operate within a server, and the such? and which ubuntu server OS would be the best choice?
    any help would be very much appreciated, i will also post my email address for an alternate method of communication. thank you so much.

jake.murray81@hotmail.com

Beans
    Distro

Re: Absolute beginner to Server Hosting

Dont know your experiance on linux but SECURITY would be good to learn especuraly as your hosting
    DUAL BOOT XP & Natty, Trying LFS

Beans

Howdy,

If you still have no clue what you are doing, just use ordinary desktop Ubuntu.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

In my experience at least a server running ubuntu is no different from my desktop ubuntu when i'm in a terminal (more or less), so i'm not sure what you mean in regards to "learning about servers". If you mean the server processes of HTTP responses and such then wikipedia would be a good place to start. Otherwise i'd advise just setting up a LAMP server on your desktop and trying it.

For a guide on LAMP setup I found this guide very good. Just be aware that the mysql installation is a bit different now and it does all the password settings during the install for you, so skip step 3.

After that w3schools do good tutorials to get you started on HTML and CSS, it all goes in /var/www and you should then be able to access it by going to localhost in your browser of choice.

Beans