Thread: GUID NTFS partition problem

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

GUID NTFS partition problem

Hi,

I have just lost a huge NTFS partition from an external RAID0 hard drive array and am trying to recover it.
    I believe the problem might have occured when I left the drive connected when I booted in Windows 7, since the hard drive is 8TB and the partition 4TB there might have been some weird MBR protective thing, I am not very good with that.
    Anyways, the partition is marked unknown in ubuntu 11.04 Disk utility and I am unable to delete it too! (I was going to delete it and recover the data after)...: http://mobiparty.net/img/DriveProb.png

What can I do if I want to ultimately get the data on there (about 3TB of stuff...)

Thank you

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Re: GUID NTFS partition problem

I thought Windows 7 correctly read gpt drives. Or did you boot from a MBR Windows 7 and it then was confused.

Paragrah below is not correct, It is type 7 in MBR, in gpt they do not have unique types, I believe.

It says it is Linux type. If you are sure it is NTFS, you could just try changing the type to 07 for NTFS with disk utility (not format). I do not know how to change in RAID if you have to use other tools to change those types of things. Both partition table has to have the type 7 and the boot sector has to be NTFS, otherwise it gets confused.
    Last edited by oldfred; August 10th, 2011 at 10:29 PM. Reason: Error used MBR type 7 which is not correct in gpt.
    For info on UEFI boot install & repair:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to close thread when/if answered completely.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Type is the same, I just created a NTFS partition and it is 0700:

Code:
    fred@fred-MavericDT:~$ sudo parted -l
    [sudo] password for fred: 
    Model: Kingston DataTraveler 2.0 (scsi)