Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 34

Thread: KDE 4.7 task manager bug?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Goshen, IN
    Beans
    252
    Distro
    Kubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    KDE 4.7 task manager bug?

    I recently upgraded two machines running Kubuntu 11.04 to KDE 4.7. On both machines, I am experiencing a problem in which icons in the task manager do not consistently disappear as they should, after the corresponding window is closed. When this happens, opening a new window usually seems to make the orphaned task manager icon go away.

    One machine is using an Nvidia ION2 GPU & proprietary drivers, and the other uses an Intel X3150 GPU.

    Is anyone else experiencing this?

    Any suggestions for possible causes/solutions?

    Thanks!
    Desktop: Kubuntu 12.10 64-bit Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 2.5GHz 4GB DDR2 Nvidia GT440
    Nettop: Kubuntu 12.04 64-bit Atom D525 @ 1.8GHz 4GB DDR2 Nvidia ION2
    Laptop: Kubuntu 12.04 32-bit Core Duo @ 1.6Ghz 2GB DDR2
    Netbook: Lubuntu 12.04 Dell Mini 9 2GB RAM

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Summerville, SC
    Beans
    397
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: KDE 4.7 task manager bug?

    Yes. I am experiencing this, but with much more tremendously horrifying things happening. When I close a window, sometimes it stays open, but the rectangle thingy in the bottom panel disappears. Sometimes the window disappears but the rectangle thingy in the bottom panel stays there.

    If I open more than one application, the rectangle thingies stack on top of each other, so if I want to use multiple applications, I'd better not minimize any of them. When I open a window, it appears, then disappears for a split second, then reappears. That's annoying. It not only happens with windows, but also context sensitive menus and drop down menus. It was driving me up the wall.

    This is without nVidia drivers. Why am I still without drivers? Because I can't install them. I go to runlevel 1. The nVidia driver installation tells me that I have to be in runlevel 3. So I try to go to that runlevel, and it takes me to the login screen. How dumb. Then, when I try to go to runlevel 2 to see if it'll let me install there, it just crashes. I've installed these drivers on multiple occasions, so it's not that I'm doing anything that I haven't done before. Unless KDE 4.7 requires some oddball workaround, I'm not understanding what is happening.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Goshen, IN
    Beans
    252
    Distro
    Kubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: KDE 4.7 task manager bug?

    FormatSeize,

    A few initial questions.

    Why have you not just used the Nvidia drivers provided in the repositories?

    Also, could you give me a few more details as to your system's specs?
    Desktop: Kubuntu 12.10 64-bit Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 2.5GHz 4GB DDR2 Nvidia GT440
    Nettop: Kubuntu 12.04 64-bit Atom D525 @ 1.8GHz 4GB DDR2 Nvidia ION2
    Laptop: Kubuntu 12.04 32-bit Core Duo @ 1.6Ghz 2GB DDR2
    Netbook: Lubuntu 12.04 Dell Mini 9 2GB RAM

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    10

    Re: KDE 4.7 task manager bug?

    I have the problem you mention. My graphics card is an ATI x1250 using OpenSource drivers and I do not think the problem is related to graphics cards. I think it's a KDE bug.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Goshen, IN
    Beans
    252
    Distro
    Kubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: KDE 4.7 task manager bug?

    YAFU,

    The thing is, most people who upgraded to KDE 4.7 are not experiencing this. I have two machines that are, and one that isn't. So one thing to do at this point, is try to determine whether or not affected machines have certain details in common.

    Although I do doubt that the CPU being used has much bearing on anything, I will mention that both of my machines with this problem are using Intel Atom D525 processors. Otherwise, they don't have so much in common.

    Could you list some of your machine's details that might be relevant?
    Desktop: Kubuntu 12.10 64-bit Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 2.5GHz 4GB DDR2 Nvidia GT440
    Nettop: Kubuntu 12.04 64-bit Atom D525 @ 1.8GHz 4GB DDR2 Nvidia ION2
    Laptop: Kubuntu 12.04 32-bit Core Duo @ 1.6Ghz 2GB DDR2
    Netbook: Lubuntu 12.04 Dell Mini 9 2GB RAM

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    South Gloucestershire, UK
    Beans
    1,749
    Distro
    Kubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: KDE 4.7 task manager bug?

    I'm also seeing this in my test version of Oneiric Ocelot, a new installation of KDE 4.70 and not upgraded form KDE 4.6x. I'm posting here rather than the in OO forum as it now looks like this bug is KDE related. I'm using an ATI video card, plenty of RAM and generally Kubuntu is really fast.

    If I close an application from the file menu or using a keyboard short-cut (Alt-F4) then the icon doesn't remain in the taskbar but if I close it from the 'x' or close button then the icon remains in the taskbar until something else comes along and replaces it.

    So how are we all closing our applications, 'x' button, from the file menu or using a keyboard short-cut?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    10

    Re: KDE 4.7 task manager bug?

    Quote Originally Posted by james_xxx View Post

    Could you list some of your machine's details that might be relevant?
    My machine is a PC, Asus Motherboard, AMD Athlon X2 and integrated ATI X1250.

    I have two kinds of problems related to the task manager. The first is that I had mentioned in the link below:
    https://answers.launchpad.net/ubuntu...uestion/167156

    The problem of launchers (Dolphin and Rekonq or Konqueror) is always reproducible on my system and I had always in Kubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot. In Natty upgrading to KDE 4.7 the problem does not exist. But if you remove the panel and add a new default panel, the problem appears.

    The other problem with the task manager just happened to me a couple of times and I do not know under what conditions it occurs. When a window are closed the corresponding task in the task manager panel does not disappear. Also at that time all elements of the taskmanager are frozen and stop responding until I reopen the application.

    Regards.
    Last edited by YAFU; August 7th, 2011 at 02:30 AM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Beans
    2

    Re: KDE 4.7 task manager bug?

    Yea, i am also getting this. I close a program down using the 'X" window button, the app closes but the task bar keeps the name and icon. If i right click the taskbar item and chose close it does nothing, but if i open amarok or kopete, which i have minimized in the systray then close them again it resets all the taskbar items.

    I have an AMD phenom II cpu
    4 gb or ram
    Nvidia gts 250 video, using the recommended drivers from the Kubuntu repostories
    Kubuntu 11.04 with upgraded kde 4.7
    edit 32 bit kubuntu if that makes a difference

    if you need more info let me know
    Last edited by kibble; August 7th, 2011 at 02:20 AM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Goshen, IN
    Beans
    252
    Distro
    Kubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: KDE 4.7 task manager bug?

    PaulW2U,

    What you are describing seems to exactly match what I am experiencing.

    As in your case, if I close a window with the 'x' button, the associated icon frequently remains in the task bar. However, when closing a window with Alt+F4, this does not happen.

    One question: What/Where is the file menu you mention? I am not sure I am familiar with this.

    Thanks!
    Desktop: Kubuntu 12.10 64-bit Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 2.5GHz 4GB DDR2 Nvidia GT440
    Nettop: Kubuntu 12.04 64-bit Atom D525 @ 1.8GHz 4GB DDR2 Nvidia ION2
    Laptop: Kubuntu 12.04 32-bit Core Duo @ 1.6Ghz 2GB DDR2
    Netbook: Lubuntu 12.04 Dell Mini 9 2GB RAM

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    South Gloucestershire, UK
    Beans
    1,749
    Distro
    Kubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: KDE 4.7 task manager bug?

    Quote Originally Posted by james_xxx View Post
    One question: What/Where is the file menu you mention?
    The file menu of the application.

    I haven't found a bug report for this yet, I'll keep looking and file one if I don't come up with anything.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •