Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: wireless for compaq presario v2000

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    49

    wireless for compaq presario v2000

    I just installed ubuntu 11.04 to compaq presario v2000.

    Everything works except wireless. Any advises? Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Beans
    14,703
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: wireless for compaq presario v2000

    Hi, run these commands in a terminal please
    Code:
    lspci -nn
    Code:
    iwconfig
    Code:
    rfkill list All
    Code:
    lsmod
    and post the outcome here by clicking on new reply and click # and paste the information between the brackets.
    Thank you

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    3

    Re: wireless for compaq presario v2000

    ken@ubuntu:~$ lspci -nn
    00:00.0 Host bridge [0600]: ATI Technologies Inc RS480 Host Bridge [1002:5950] (rev 01)
    00:01.0 PCI bridge [0604]: ATI Technologies Inc RS480 PCI Bridge [1002:5a3f]
    00:13.0 USB Controller [0c03]: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 USB Host Controller [1002:4374]
    00:13.1 USB Controller [0c03]: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 USB Host Controller [1002:4375]
    00:13.2 USB Controller [0c03]: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 USB2 Host Controller [1002:4373]
    00:14.0 SMBus [0c05]: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 SMBus Controller [1002:4372] (rev 11)
    00:14.1 IDE interface [0101]: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 IDE Controller [1002:4376]
    00:14.3 ISA bridge [0601]: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 PCI-ISA Bridge [1002:4377]
    00:14.4 PCI bridge [0604]: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 PCI-PCI Bridge [1002:4371]
    00:14.5 Multimedia audio controller [0401]: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 AC'97 Audio Controller [1002:4370] (rev 02)
    00:14.6 Modem [0703]: ATI Technologies Inc SB400 AC'97 Modem Controller [1002:4378] (rev 02)
    00:18.0 Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration [1022:1100]
    00:18.1 Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map [1022:1101]
    00:18.2 Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller [1022:1102]
    00:18.3 Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control [1022:1103]
    01:05.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon XPRESS 200M 5955 (PCIE) [1002:5955]
    05:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ [10ec:8139] (rev 10)
    05:02.0 Network controller [0280]: Broadcom Corporation BCM4318 [AirForce One 54g] 802.11g Wireless LAN Controller [14e4:4318] (rev 02)
    05:09.0 CardBus bridge [0607]: Texas Instruments PCIxx21/x515 Cardbus Controller [104c:8031]
    05:09.2 FireWire (IEEE 1394) [0c00]: Texas Instruments OHCI Compliant IEEE 1394 Host Controller [104c:8032]
    05:09.3 Mass storage controller [0180]: Texas Instruments PCIxx21 Integrated FlashMedia Controller [104c:8033]
    05:09.4 SD Host controller [0805]: Texas Instruments PCI6411/6421/6611/6621/7411/7421/7611/7621 Secure Digital Controller [104c:8034]
    ken@ubuntu:~$ iwconfig
    lo no wireless extensions.

    eth0 no wireless extensions.

    wlan0 IEEE 802.11bg ESSIDff/any
    Mode:Managed Access Point: Not-Associated Tx-Power=0 dBm
    Retry long limit:7 RTS thrff Fragment thrff
    Power Managementff



    ken@ubuntu:~$ rfkill list all
    0: phy0: Wireless LAN
    Soft blocked: no
    Hard blocked: no
    1: hp-wifi: Wireless LAN
    Soft blocked: no
    Hard blocked: no
    ken@ubuntu:~$ lsmod
    Module Size Used by
    binfmt_misc 13213 1
    parport_pc 32111 0
    ppdev 12849 0
    radeon 900494 3
    snd_atiixp 19400 2
    snd_atiixp_modem 18624 5
    snd_ac97_codec 105614 2 snd_atiixp,snd_atiixp_modem
    ac97_bus 12642 1 snd_ac97_codec
    snd_pcm 80042 5 snd_atiixp,snd_atiixp_modem,snd_ac97_codec
    snd_seq_midi 13132 0
    snd_rawmidi 25269 1 snd_seq_midi
    snd_seq_midi_event 14475 1 snd_seq_midi
    ttm 65184 1 radeon
    snd_seq 51291 2 snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_midi_event
    drm_kms_helper 40745 1 radeon
    snd_timer 28659 2 snd_pcm,snd_seq
    joydev 17322 0
    pcmcia 39671 0
    hp_wmi 13418 0
    snd_seq_device 14110 3 snd_seq_midi,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq
    sparse_keymap 13666 1 hp_wmi
    tifm_7xx1 12898 0
    yenta_socket 27230 0
    drm 180037 5 radeon,ttm,drm_kms_helper
    snd 55295 20 snd_atiixp,snd_atiixp_modem,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm ,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq,snd_timer,snd_seq_device
    pcmcia_rsrc 18292 1 yenta_socket
    tifm_core 15040 1 tifm_7xx1
    psmouse 73312 0
    pcmcia_core 21505 3 pcmcia,yenta_socket,pcmcia_rsrc
    soundcore 12600 1 snd
    k8temp 12872 0
    i2c_algo_bit 13184 1 radeon
    snd_page_alloc 14073 3 snd_atiixp,snd_atiixp_modem,snd_pcm
    video 18951 0
    serio_raw 12990 0
    shpchp 32345 0
    ati_agp 13202 0
    i2c_piix4 13095 0
    arc4 12473 2
    b43 296610 0
    mac80211 257001 1 b43
    cfg80211 156212 2 b43,mac80211
    lp 13349 0
    parport 36746 3 parport_pc,ppdev,lp
    8139too 23208 0
    firewire_ohci 31504 0
    sdhci_pci 13623 0
    ssb 45942 1 b43
    firewire_core 56138 1 firewire_ohci
    8139cp 22497 0
    crc_itu_t 12627 1 firewire_core
    sdhci 22720 1 sdhci_pci
    pata_atiixp 12968 1
    ken@ubuntu:~$

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    3

    Re: wireless for compaq presario v2000

    When I open the network manager dropdown on the top right of my desktop it shows Wireless Networking but is grayed out and has this "device not ready (firmware missing)".

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Beans
    14,703
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: wireless for compaq presario v2000

    Hi, open syanptic type bcm into search and uninstall anything there that has a small green square by it then close synaptic.

    Run this command
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install b43-fwcutter && sudo apt-get install firmware-b43-installer
    disconnect your wired connection then restart your system and you should have wireless.
    Thank you

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    3

    Re: wireless for compaq presario v2000

    Quote Originally Posted by wildmanne39 View Post
    Hi, open syanptic type bcm into search and uninstall anything there that has a small green square by it then close synaptic.

    Run this command
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install b43-fwcutter && sudo apt-get install firmware-b43-installer
    disconnect your wired connection then restart your system and you should have wireless.
    Thank you
    This worked for me. Thanks! Wireless is working now.

    FYI: I did not see any "small green squares" in synaptic. So I just ran the apt-get in terminal and rebooted.

    Thanks again!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Beans
    14,703
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: wireless for compaq presario v2000

    Hi, your welcome! I am glad you got it working.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Beans
    1

    Exclamation Re: wireless for compaq presario v2000

    Please help...

    I was following this thread, removed all green boxes, and now my computer only goes to Memtest when it restarts. I have no idea what I removed, but there are some files I created in Ubuntu that I need to recover. HELP!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Europe
    Beans
    3,564
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: wireless for compaq presario v2000

    Quote Originally Posted by nouveausouth View Post
    Please help...

    I was following this thread, removed all green boxes, and now my computer only goes to Memtest when it restarts. I have no idea what I removed, but there are some files I created in Ubuntu that I need to recover. HELP!
    did you remove every package installed? you where supposed to remove only the broadcom drivers installed
    to recover your files boot the live cd or usb drive then you can copy the files from the hard-drive
    Intel Atom Dual Core D525 @ 1.80GHz, 1,0GB RAM, Intel Graphics Media Accelator 3150
    Linux User # 478860 Ubuntu User # 24004

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Beans
    1

    Re: wireless for compaq presario v2000

    Okay so i'm having a bit of an issue as well. I've done all that was advised above but am still unable to connect. It seems as if it's establishing a connection but then fails at the last second. I enter the correct password for my router and when I look at the properties of the connection it shows a password that's incredibly long that I did not enter. Any advice?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •