Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Time for college...

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

Time for college...

Well, I'm off to college this fall, which means I need a new machine. Which ULTIMATELY means that I have to make the unwanted choice between Mac and Windows. Of course, since I'm a poor college student, I have to go with a Windows box. So this is officially and sadly my last month using Ubuntu as my main OS. I really would love to set up dual-boot, but I wouldn't want to do anything to void the warranty.

I don't really see this post as anything important, but more like something I felt I needed to share with the Ubuntu Community. So a huge thanks to anyone who's ever helped me with anything on here, and I'll be back every summer!

I've thoroughly enjoyed using Ubuntu, and learning from the Linux Community.

-Ryan

P.S. Any insight on college from anyone?

Beans
    Hidden!

Re: Time for college...

Why do you need Windows?

For Office?

Will you college have any computer labs?

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Lubuntu Development Release

Read the warranty carefully, see what it says about software and OS. If all else fails, ring the helpline. Some laptops even have separate warranties for hardware and software bugs. (I think, at least, an old one of mine has)

Good luck with college!

Beans
    Distro

krapp, my college offers a bunch of free and reduced price software to students. None of which is available on Linux. Also, I've already experienced that some of their online systems don't function properly. For the best integration into college, I'm going to have to run Windows or Mac.

And thanks, MG&TL. I'll look into that.

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by ArrrghJ View Post