Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Fork bomb

Beans

Fork bomb

I am new to learn about fork bomb. I saw in a website that limiting the number of process we can prevent fork bomb. What does it mean?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Re: Fork bomb

I haven't heard of many home users being hit with a fork bomb style DoS attack.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fork_bomb
    Thank you for your contributions. "So long and thanks for the fish!"

Beans

In what way does fork bomb harm any system. Is it through the net we use or inbuilt in the system when we work on more applications?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

The link I provided above explains Fork Bombs. If you are not running server applications and you are not forwarding ports at your router/firewall, then you have nothing to worry about. It is a Denial of Service(DoS) attack.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

a fork bomb is a denial of service attack, that is caused by a malicious program that keeps running fork() on itself infinitely. fork() causes a new process to spawn (usually a clone of the process calling fork). Fork is particularly needed for server services that listen on one port, but that then run established connections from a different port.

the system has a list of running processes (the process table), but that list can be filled up. when it is, no other processes can be started.

the advice you are hearing, is telling you to make sure that you set a maximum number of processes that may run, which is less than the max number the system can support. that way your list of processes can never overflow.

https://secure.wikimedia.org/wikiped...wiki/Fork_bomb
    Last edited by doas777; July 15th, 2011 at 07:24 PM.
    Things are rarely just crazy enough to work, but they're frequently just crazy enough to fail hilariously.

Soul-Sing is offline Chocolate-Covered Ubuntu Beans
    Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail