Thread: Rosetta Stone won't execute 2011

Beans

Rosetta Stone won't execute 2011

Hi all,

Complete newby here and first time poster.

The missus has forced me into buying her Rosetta Stone Total(e). I installed it onto her PC but getting it onto my laptop is driving me mad!

I run Ubuntu 11.04. When I right click on the .exe file is says it can't be executed. Then when I go into properties I get a very similar message when I try to check the allow executable box.

Any help would be great as me and the missus are now in a race to master Mandarin!

Cheers,

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Re: Rosetta Stone won't execute 2011

Hi,

Since its an .exe file I am assuming you have installed Wine?

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

I did a bit of searching for Rosetta Stone. It can be run with wine. Do you have the latest installment for wine. If you don't, I would say try the one that you can get from repositories first, before you try to use the one that you can download from the Internet.This is another web page I had found with information on wine and Rosetta StoneI hope these help you.
    Last edited by dcsoldschool53; July 13th, 2011 at 03:23 PM.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

This is such a commonly-asked problem, but people still don't really know the answer to it. Threads about "How do I actually run stuff in Wine, it says I don't have execute permission" tend to drag on for pages.

It's actually really easy to run programs in Wine. Type 'wine ' in the terminal - yes, with a space character at the end. Now drag the program yo uwant to run into the terminal. Run the resulting terminal command. Done, easy. Just make sure that you really do want to run that program and that you trust its origins.