Thread: Installing Ubuntu Server w/ multiple Hard drives

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

Installing Ubuntu Server w/ multiple Hard drives

I wasn't sure where the best place to post this was, so here I am. I'm a complete linux noob, I've been using ubuntu on my laptop for a few days now (think I finally got the hang of it.) I've built a computer that I will be using as a media server with a 40GB hd to install ubuntu server, a 2TB hd for my videos, and a 320GB hd for my music. I was wondering how I can set it up so my video folder is on the 2TB hd and my music folder is on my 320GB hd, either during or after installation.

I already installed it once but the part about setting up partitions was kind of confusing. I'm not against reinstalling the OS since I haven't set anything else up yet. Thanks for any help.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Re: Installing Ubuntu Server w/ multiple Hard drives

You can do it after install by editing fstab.

See here.
    Come to #ubuntuforums! We have cookies! | Basic Ubuntu Security Guide

Tomorrow's an illusion and yesterday's a dream, today is a solution...

Beans
    Distro

Thanks, it all looks pretty confusing, but I'll try to figure it out once I have some time. I'm still really confused about the whole concept of partitioning and mounting drives and what not.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro

Quote Originally Posted by zafiros bonitos View Post
    Thanks, it all looks pretty confusing, but I'll try to figure it out once I have some time. I'm still really confused about the whole concept of partitioning and mounting drives and what not.
    Basically, you mount a drive to an empty folder and then put files you want to move to that drive in that folder.

take a look here.

Beans
    Distro
    Kubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot