Thread: problems with dell vostro 3350

Beans

problems with dell vostro 3350

Hello

I'm absolute beginner in Linux (experience with ubuntu for three days) and just a regular user of Windows XP.
    I recently bought an Dell Vostro 3350: http://www.dell.com/sg/business/p/vostro-3350/pd
    Intel I5 2410M processor.

I have two problems:
    1. with AMD/ATI video card:

lspci | grep VGA 00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 09)
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc NI Seymour [AMD Radeon HD 6470M]
    alex@DeLLu:~$
    Well, the additional driver utility identifies the Radeon VGA, installs the driver (is this proper linuxese?) but when I restart the system I'm informed that no ATI VGA is identified on my computer (I'm trasnlating from Romanian, so maybe in English it's not exact this phrasing, but you get the idea, methinks). Without the ATI driver, Ubuntu works quite fine, displaying that nice apple-wise, win7-wise interface. It probably works with a proper driver for the Intel Integrated VGA .

2. with the fingerprint reader - It is identified in the test (it simply exists), but I have no interface whatsoever to putting it to use.

I'm using Ubuntu 11.04. 32 bit, installed on an ext3 partition, on a dual system (with windows XP). I had some problems with the instalation, but I managed to solve them with the GParted Live CD.

Anyway, my problems with Ubuntu are quite small compared with those in WinXP. I can't find any drivers for XP, whatsoever - Dell is providing drivers only for Windows 7and I bought the system without any OS.

Sorry for my English, I can only hope that I made myself clear.
    Last edited by AlexValex; July 8th, 2011 at 08:06 PM.

Beans

Re: problems with dell vostro 3350

I tried to solve the problem of the VGA and I think I'm pretty close, but my lack of knowledge of Linux is hindering me.