Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Installing Octave in Ubuntu Studio

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Philippines
    Beans
    2
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Cool Installing Octave in Ubuntu Studio

    Hi, forgive me if there's a previous thread about this, but I just can't find one through search. anyways, I'm trying to install octave in ubuntu-studio (which is also install in VirtualBox on Win7.) in the install.txt it says after './configure', I should compile by typing 'make', but when I do it says: make: *** No targets specified and no makefile found. Stop. how do i continue with my installation?

  2. #2
    beew is offline I Ubuntu, Therefore, I Am
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Beans
    2,785

    Re: Installing Octave in Ubuntu Studio

    Octave is in the repository.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Philippines
    Beans
    2
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Installing Octave in Ubuntu Studio

    uhm, I don't understand. can you expound on that? thanks.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Wollongong, Australia
    Beans
    148
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Installing Octave in Ubuntu Studio

    Search for it in Synaptic.

    or
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install octave3.2
    Synaptic is probably the better option, as it will list the extra toolkits available. e.g. if you require dsp, you'll need octave-signal

    EDIT: It is also in the Ubuntu software centre, but has very few add-ons listed.
    Last edited by pjd99; July 6th, 2011 at 04:24 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Wollongong, Australia
    Beans
    148
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Installing Octave in Ubuntu Studio

    Quote Originally Posted by najjems View Post
    uhm, I don't understand. can you expound on that? thanks.
    If the software is in the repositories, it means you don't have to download the source code and compile the software yourself. You just search, select, and install with a few mouse clicks.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Philippines
    Beans
    2
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Installing Octave in Ubuntu Studio

    okay i understand now, but actually I did those two options before, but amazingly it works now (sort of) I'm not sure what I did wrong the first time. Thank you so far!
    but now I have a new problem. after I typed "sudo apt-get install octave3.2" it said:
    unable to lock the administration directory, are you root?
    possibly I'm not, so does that mean i need to change directory to the root folder? I tried cd root, or sudo cd root, but I can't get in.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    The New Forest
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu Development Release

    Re: Installing Octave in Ubuntu Studio

    If this is the first user then it means that you have another package manager open at the same time as trying to use apt-get. Close synaptic/add-remove/software centre and try again.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Wollongong, Australia
    Beans
    148
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Installing Octave in Ubuntu Studio

    If you found octave3.2 in Synaptic, don't worry about using apt-get. In this case, Synaptic is the much better option as you can see all the add-ons by searching for "octave" and selecting the ones you need.

    If you haven't used Octave before, and it's been sold as a Matlab replacement you just have to get used to to its command line interface, as it's lacking the workspace environment Matlab has.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •