Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 36

Thread: Wifi only temporarily connects on Asus EEE 1000HE

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    California
    Beans
    81
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Wifi only temporarily connects on Asus EEE 1000HE

    the occasional understandable error.
    Ha ha, not a problem at all, It happens to me all the time. And thanks again for the help!

    So the new instructions worked fine through "make" and "make install" -- bunch of warnings generated but no errors.

    The next two didn't work, though, because apparently the original wireless driver is now gone? It didn't load at all when I turned on the netbook this morning:
    Code:
    # ifconfig wlan0 down
    wlan0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    # rmmod rt2860sta
    ERROR: Module rt2860sta does not exist in /proc/modules
    Presumably something I did yesterday removed the original rt2860sta? Or it's a fluke?

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    20,420
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn

    Re: Wifi only temporarily connects on Asus EEE 1000HE

    When you do 'sudo make install' it installs it (not quite correctly, I might add) in /lib/modules/`uname -r`/kernel/drivers/net/wireless. Then the 'sudo cp' step copies that driver to where the system looks for it, /lib/modules/`uname -r`/kernel/drivers/staging/rt2860.

    I think I see a copy and paste error. The sudo cp is supposed to be:

    Code:
    sudo cp /lib/modules/`uname -r`/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/rt2860sta.ko /lib/modules/`uname -r`/kernel/drivers/staging/rt2860
    Try it again and then do:
    Code:
    sudo modprobe rt2860sta
    modinfo rt2860sta
    iwconfig
    Is the version now 2.4.0.0? Is it now working?
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, Ph.D.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    California
    Beans
    81
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Wifi only temporarily connects on Asus EEE 1000HE

    OK, this looks promising. I did the revised copy, now:

    Code:
    ~$ sudo modprobe rt2860sta
    ~$ modinfo rt2860sta
    filename:       /lib/modules/2.6.32-32-generic/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/rt2860sta.ko
    license:        GPL
    version:        2.4.0.0
    srcversion:     13D46228144E2B4107ABD5C
    alias:          pci:v00001432d00007768sv*sd*bc*sc*i*
    alias:          pci:v00001432d00007748sv*sd*bc*sc*i*
    alias:          pci:v00001432d00007738sv*sd*bc*sc*i*
    alias:          pci:v00001432d00007727sv*sd*bc*sc*i*
    alias:          pci:v00001432d00007758sv*sd*bc*sc*i*
    alias:          pci:v00001432d00007728sv*sd*bc*sc*i*
    alias:          pci:v00001432d00007708sv*sd*bc*sc*i*
    alias:          pci:v00001A3Bd00001059sv*sd*bc*sc*i*
    alias:          pci:v00001814d00000781sv*sd*bc*sc*i*
    alias:          pci:v00001814d00000701sv*sd*bc*sc*i*
    alias:          pci:v00001814d00000681sv*sd*bc*sc*i*
    alias:          pci:v00001814d00000601sv*sd*bc*sc*i*
    depends:        
    vermagic:       2.6.32-32-generic SMP mod_unload modversions 586 
    parm:           mac:rt28xx: wireless mac addr (charp)
    nosehat@nosehat-laptop:~$ iwconfig
    lo        no wireless extensions.
    
    eth0      no wireless extensions.
    
    ra0       Ralink STA  
              Link Quality:0  Signal level:0  Noise level:0
              Rx invalid nwid:0  invalid crypt:0  invalid misc:0
    So what next?

    I tried:

    Code:
    $ sudo ifconfig wlan0 up
    wlan0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    So I'm not quite there yet?

    Does it need a reboot at this point?
    Last edited by nosehat; July 6th, 2011 at 08:29 PM. Reason: additional question

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    20,420
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn

    Re: Wifi only temporarily connects on Asus EEE 1000HE

    $ sudo ifconfig wlan0 up
    wlan0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    That's because your interface is now ra0. Please reboot and run:
    Code:
    dmesg | grep -e ra0 -e rt2
    lsmod | grep rt2
    We're close!
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, Ph.D.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    California
    Beans
    81
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Wifi only temporarily connects on Asus EEE 1000HE

    Rebooted.

    Code:
    ~$ dmesg | grep -e ra0 -e rt2
    [   12.649790] rt2860 0000:01:00.0: PCI INT A -> GSI 19 (level, low) -> IRQ 19
    [   12.649848] rt2860 0000:01:00.0: setting latency timer to 64
    ~$ lsmod | grep rt2
    rt2860sta             791605  0
    I still have no wireless, though. Left clicking or right clicking on the little networking icon gives me no option to enable wireless yet.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    20,420
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn

    Re: Wifi only temporarily connects on Asus EEE 1000HE

    Can you confirm that, before you did make and make install, you did this from the link?
    Step 3
    Code:

    gedit ./os/linux/config.mk

    Use the find command to locate HAS_WPA_SUPPLICANT and make sure it is set to y for yes. It should look like this when finished:
    HAS_WPA_SUPPLICANT=y


    Use the find command to locate HAS_NATIVE_WPA_SUPPLICANT_SUPPORT and make sure it is set to y for yes. It should look like this when finished:
    HAS_NATIVE_WPA_SUPPLICANT_SUPPORT=y


    Close and save this file.
    Please check. Also, is the needed .dat file in place?
    Code:
    ls /etc/Wireless/RT2860STA
    Thanks.
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, Ph.D.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    California
    Beans
    81
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Wifi only temporarily connects on Asus EEE 1000HE

    Use the find command to locate HAS_WPA_SUPPLICANT and make sure it is set to y for yes. It should look like this when finished:
    HAS_WPA_SUPPLICANT=y


    Use the find command to locate HAS_NATIVE_WPA_SUPPLICANT_SUPPORT and make sure it is set to y for yes. It should look like this when finished:
    HAS_NATIVE_WPA_SUPPLICANT_SUPPORT=y
    Ahh, I must have been tired too! I did change the first of those, but I neglected to change the second! So, I've changed it now.

    And yes, the needed .dat file is in place.

    I will re-make the driver and attempt to copy it into the right folder and reboot.

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    California
    Beans
    81
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Wifi only temporarily connects on Asus EEE 1000HE

    <tentative cheer>

    I think it might be working. I've successfully re-made, installed, and moved the driver. I also added an entry for rt2860sta to /etc/modules

    I've booted a couple of times, and the wifi has connected each time.

    Here's the new result of the two commands you asked for, by the way:

    Code:
    ~$ dmesg | grep -e ra0 -e rt2
    [   12.937623] rt2860 0000:01:00.0: PCI INT A -> GSI 19 (level, low) -> IRQ 19
    [   12.937683] rt2860 0000:01:00.0: setting latency timer to 64
    [   14.018596] <==== rt28xx_init, Status=0
    [   24.888027] ra0: no IPv6 routers present
    nosehat@nosehat-laptop:~$ lsmod | grep rt2
    rt2860sta             791441  1
    Is there anything else I need to do?

    I want to test this with a variety of battery conditions, both at home and work and on a public network, just to make sure everything is flawless. I'll mark the thread [Solved] after a day or two of testing.

    Thanks again for all your help! I definitely owe you dinner if I'm ever in South Carolina!

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    20,420
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn

    Re: Wifi only temporarily connects on Asus EEE 1000HE

    the wifi has connected each time.
    You just repaid me all I could ever want! I'm glad it's working. If you feel you've tested enough to be confident, please use Thread Tools at the top and Mark Solved.

    NB: When a later kernel version is installed, you'll need to rebuild the driver:
    Code:
    cd Desktop/2010etc.
    sudo su
    make clean
    make
    make install
    modprobe rt2860sta
    exit
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, Ph.D.

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Beans
    6

    Re: Wifi only temporarily connects on Asus EEE 1000HE

    Hi there,
    I read through all this because I have exactly the same problem with my Eee. I'm just a bit reluctant to go through the whole compile from source action.
    So a couple questions:
    - what's the quickest way to find out if my driver is also affected, apart from the obvious effect of dropping the wireless link (I've just installed 11.04)?

    - is there a way to get the driver pre-compiled and ready to run?

    Thanks for your help

    Andreas

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •