Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Why only 64bit?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    130

    Why only 64bit?

    Thinking about getting a netbook with Ubuntu on it just something portable and I can play with. But wondering why are we locked into using 64bit only? I know we can reinstall and do 32bit but why no option for 32bit? Always heard compability issues with 64bit and headaches.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    england
    Beans
    246
    Distro
    Kubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Why only 64bit?

    you can download 32 or 64 bit ?? from the main site
    http://www.ubuntu.com/download/ubuntu/download
    yes i'm a nood



  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Sevierville, Tennessee
    Beans
    1,279
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Why only 64bit?

    Quote Originally Posted by Gizim View Post
    Thinking about getting a netbook with Ubuntu on it just something portable and I can play with. But wondering why are we locked into using 64bit only? I know we can reinstall and do 32bit but why no option for 32bit? Always heard compability issues with 64bit and headaches.
    Your not locked into the 64bit OS, you can download the 32bit iso and use that if you wish. Or you can use the 64bit OS with the 32bit libs. The choice is yours.
    Gary
    Linux since 1995, Ubuntu since 2006

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    130

    Re: Why only 64bit?

    I'm talking about on the System76 website when you go to order or configure a system.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    7,749

    Re: Why only 64bit?

    If you're having specific errors/issues with 64 bit, post them and we'll help!

    "Some guy told me 64-bit Ubuntu doesn't work very well" is no reason to be scared.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    england
    Beans
    246
    Distro
    Kubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Why only 64bit?

    whoops double posted for some reason
    Last edited by goldshirt9; June 27th, 2011 at 05:46 PM. Reason: double post
    yes i'm a nood



  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    england
    Beans
    246
    Distro
    Kubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Why only 64bit?

    i assume that thats all the shop wants to sell .
    you should ask them if they can install 32 bit only.
    i use 64 bit with no problems
    yes i'm a nood



  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    London.ca
    Beans
    560

    Re: Why only 64bit?

    Quote Originally Posted by goldshirt9 View Post
    you should ask them if they can install 32 bit only.
    He sort of is, seeing how he posted this in the System76 support section.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Beans
    29

    Re: Why only 64bit?

    I'm really not sure what compatibility issues you're referring to. Anecdotal evidence is really no reason to forego technological advancement.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Aurora, CO
    Beans
    2,543
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Why only 64bit?

    There used to be problems with 64-bit and compatibility. As recently as 8.04, Firefox was only available in 32-bit. However, at this point, there really aren't very many problems at all, and for the casual user, all of the software available is also available in 64-bit.

    It does provide a performance boost, and it's necessary to take advantage of more than 4GB of RAM properly.
    Ian Santopietro - System76 Technical Support.
    Open a Support Ticket!
    Ask a Sales Question!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •