Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: asus 1215b suspend problems with 11.04

Beans

Unhappy asus 1215b suspend problems with 11.04

Hi there.

I'm new to linux but have my system running perfectly except for whenever I try to resume from suspension (lid close or otherwise). The system will hang on a black screen (no backlight) and won't return to normal unless I hard reset.

I've read that this is a pretty common problem but have yet to find a working solution. Is there any hope?

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Re: asus 1215b suspend problems with 11.04

My Asus 1201t does the same thing with 11.04 Natty, with the default grub settings.

Try this:

• edit the file /etc/default/grub (make a backup first!)
    • find the GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT entry
    • replace the value (default is "quiet splash") with "nomodeset" (keep the quotes)
      Code:
      GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="nomodeset"
    • run the "update-grub" command
    • reboot

Actually you can probably just add "nomodeset" to the "quiet splash" string, but I haven't tried it since I despise "quiet" and "splash".

Beans

this didn't fix the problem.

The system seems to resume but the screen won't come back on.

Beans

I have the same problem. I work on an ASUS K52J and it won't resume after I close the lid and open it again. The fix did not work.

Beans

hibernate works fine, I guess i'll use that until this gets fixed.

It's a shame that so many people are experiencing this problem.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

I have the same problem with a Eee PC 1015 PEM, I tried the fix but now the things are worse....

I can't start gonme any more and the the computer stops on a terminal-like level. I can og in but do no get over terminal level on a black screen. How can I edit /etc/default/grub back to the original version on terminal level? gedit dos not initiate...

Chris