Thread: keyboard and wine

Beans

keyboard and wine

Hi there!

I'm new in Ubuntu and I'm triying to play starcraft trough wine.
    I run winesetup and I choose "Managed" under "window mode".that lets my X window system control wine.Everything works fine, only I still see the desktop panels, and since they get bigger due to the resolution change, it's quite annoying.

If I choose "Unmanaged" the panels disapear, but the keyboard won't work (and this is unacceptable in Starcraft).When I quit Starcraft I see in an open terminal the keys I've been tipyng while trying to play Starcraft, so it looks like wine can't "get the focus" to get the keyboard signal.

Is there a way to solve this problem and use the keyboard in the Unmanaged mode??
    Thank you for your help.

Beans

Re: keyboard and wine

I'm having a similar problem with Counter-strike. If anyone has any advice, please share it.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome 16.04 Xenial Xerus

I've tried installing previous versions of wine on my hoary final config and there doesn't appear to be any sort of solution.

Oddly, before I had to reformat I had begun with Warty and upgraded to Hoary in the developmental stage. It worked fine, even after upgrading some apps to Breezy.

Now, after reformat with Hoary final, Wine is useless (without keyboard).

Anyone?
    "Hey, it just sounds to me like you need to unplug, man." -Choi, The Matrix

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome 16.04 Xenial Xerus

Found a fix for this. See this post.

I believe the settings created automatically by winesetuptk contain the source of the problem. Best to let wine and wineutils create the proper default directories and settings for you. You can always manually tweak the settings later if you wish.
    "Hey, it just sounds to me like you need to unplug, man." -Choi, The Matrix

Beans

how do you uninstall only "winesetuptk" ?