Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: dualboot install windows7 ubuntu11.04 alternate install cd

Beans

Question dualboot install windows7 ubuntu11.04 alternate install cd

Hi, I'm a newbie to linux. I've had a laptop with Fedora5 and 7, and recently installed ubuntu on the same machine, but I have totally broke it trying to make more room. I didn't allocate enough disk space to begin with. Anyways what I really need is some advice on dual booting windows 7 and ubuntu11.04 on a differnt laptop. It has windows factory instaled and I have a ubuntu11.04 alternate install disk. The computer has a 250gb hd and windows is taking up about 110gb total.I would like to have around 200gb for windows and about 50gb for ubuntu.I have never installed a dualboot machine and I don't want to mess up my windows instal, since I don't have a windows install disk. Any advice would help. Thanks in advance.

Beans
    Hidden!

Re: dualboot install windows7 ubuntu11.04 alternate install cd

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

I found this article very useful for a Maverick Meerkat/Windows 7 dual boot. I imagine most of the theory would apply to 11.04/Win7 too.
    "Ubuntu speaks of the very essence of being human. It is to say, 'My humanity is caught up, is inextricably bound up, in yours.'" - Rev. Dr. Desmond Tutu.

Don't forget to mark your thread as [SOLVED] (Here's how)

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Hi and welcome to the forums brianbeswick

I think you will find the information you need in the following links:
    http://members.iinet.net/~herman546/index.html
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/DualBoot/Windows

You can create restore disks for Windows following this guide:
    http://forums.techarena.in/guides-tutorials/1114725.htm

Most important of all before you start, backups!

Beans