Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Problems with all screen recorders

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Beans
    38

    Problems with all screen recorders

    Ubuntu 10.10 GNOME

    None of the screen recorders I've tried are working. They either dont make it through saving screencasts, or the video they produce is messed up.
    For example, gtk record My Desktop. Amazing screen quality. Amazing sound quality. However, when I watch the video it produces, there's a big problem. What ends up happening is that whenever I switched to a new tab in a web browser, or opened up a new program, only bits and pieces of windows would record, resulting in rigid and highly pixilated edges. Also, these bits and pieces of windows would seem to stay on the screen in random places.

    Since this is happening with ALL screen recorders I've tried (Including Istanbul and RecordItNow,) I believe it might be a problem with the recorders' settings, or Ubuntu itself. I don't think it's the graphics cards that cause the problem. Everything else works, including the Flash bits of websites (which, on the other 10 or so Installations of Ubuntu 10.10, would randomly go grey.) If it is the graphics cards, I would really like some suggestions that do NOT include installing the nvidia drivers. This is the nteenth time i am giving Ubuntu a chance, and all the NVidia drivers ever did was make sure I could only boot into a tty1 screen and NEVER access my GUI ever again, no matter how many guides' and forums' tactics I used. I've experienced no problems with opensuse, ever, so I'm also sure it's not the settings of the screen recorders.

    Alienware m11x
    Core 2 Duo
    NVidia GForce

    Thanks in advance ^^

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Louisiana, USA
    Beans
    233

    Re: Problems with all screen recorders

    You could try using straight ffmpeg and see if you get the same issues. Here's an example command:

    Code:
    # Record Desktop
    #	-s Size:			1920x1080
    #	-r	Framerate:		30fps
    #	-b	Bitrate:		5000 kbits/s
    #	-ab	Audio Bitrate:	128 kbits/s
    #	-ac	Audio Channels:	6
    #	-i	Input:			$DISPLAY (:0.0)
    #	Output File:		out.mpg
    
    ffmpeg -s 1920x1080 -r 30 -b 5000k -ab 128k -ac 6 -i $DISPLAY out.mpg
    Any advice given is the direct result of my experience solving my problems on my system. I have no idea what I'm talking about. ~bouge

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Beans
    38

    Re: Problems with all screen recorders

    Quote Originally Posted by GWBouge View Post
    You could try using straight ffmpeg and see if you get the same issues. Here's an example command:

    Code:
    # Record Desktop
    #    -s Size:            1920x1080
    #    -r    Framerate:        30fps
    #    -b    Bitrate:        5000 kbits/s
    #    -ab    Audio Bitrate:    128 kbits/s
    #    -ac    Audio Channels:    6
    #    -i    Input:            $DISPLAY (:0.0)
    #    Output File:        out.mpg
    
    ffmpeg -s 1920x1080 -r 30 -b 5000k -ab 128k -ac 6 -i $DISPLAY out.mpg
    What turns up in terminal is a whole bunch of "--enable-______" and then the final line is :0.0: No such file or directory

    Confused x.x
    Last edited by AlvitrValkyrie; June 17th, 2011 at 12:18 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Louisiana, USA
    Beans
    233

    Re: Problems with all screen recorders

    Oops! it's missing x11grab. Try this:

    Code:
    ffmpeg -s 1920x1080 -r 30 -b 2000k -ab 128k -ac 6 -f x11grab -i $DISPLAY out.mpg
    Don't forget you might have to change some of that around to suit your machine, what it can handle and what kind of quality you want, like the bitrates, resolution, audio channels, etc. If you have two monitors, but you only want to capture the right one, you can adjust the $DISPLAY over some by the width of your left monitor. I've got 1280x1024 on the left, 1920x1080 on the right, so I'd do:

    Code:
    ffmpeg -s 1920x1080 -r 30 -b 2000k -ab 128k -ac 6 -f x11grab -i $DISPLAY+1280,0 out.mpg
    And sorry for the late reply, got called out not long after I posted that.
    Any advice given is the direct result of my experience solving my problems on my system. I have no idea what I'm talking about. ~bouge

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Beans
    38

    Re: Problems with all screen recorders

    Quote Originally Posted by GWBouge View Post
    Oops! it's missing x11grab. Try this:

    Code:
    ffmpeg -s 1920x1080 -r 30 -b 2000k -ab 128k -ac 6 -f x11grab -i $DISPLAY out.mpg
    Don't forget you might have to change some of that around to suit your machine, what it can handle and what kind of quality you want, like the bitrates, resolution, audio channels, etc. If you have two monitors, but you only want to capture the right one, you can adjust the $DISPLAY over some by the width of your left monitor. I've got 1280x1024 on the left, 1920x1080 on the right, so I'd do:

    Code:
    ffmpeg -s 1920x1080 -r 30 -b 2000k -ab 128k -ac 6 -f x11grab -i $DISPLAY+1280,0 out.mpg
    And sorry for the late reply, got called out not long after I posted that.
    Why thank you ^^ That works rather well!
    Everything works, but it's just a little laggy. I'm guessing I would increase the bitrate...? From 2000 to like 3000? And how would I change the code to increase the quality just a little bit?

    Code for me:
    ffmpeg -s 1366x768 -r 30 -b 2000k -ab 128k -ac 6 -f x11grab -i $DISPLAY out.mpg

    Thanks a lot.

    And I figured out the problems with the screen recorders. It's the encoding. When I set gtk screen recorder to record on the fly, the problems are gone, BUT the recording goes like 4 ties faster than the audio.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Louisiana, USA
    Beans
    233

    Re: Problems with all screen recorders

    Quote Originally Posted by AlvitrValkyrie View Post
    And I figured out the problems with the screen recorders. It's the encoding. When I set gtk screen recorder to record on the fly, the problems are gone, BUT the recording goes like 4 ties faster than the audio.
    Ow, yeah, I never would have guessed that, lol. No clue what to do about the audio/video sync issue, either.

    Quote Originally Posted by AlvitrValkyrie View Post
    Why thank you ^^ That works rather well!
    Everything works, but it's just a little laggy. I'm guessing I would increase the bitrate...? From 2000 to like 3000? And how would I change the code to increase the quality just a little bit?
    Your welcome =o)

    Simply put, bitrate is quality. How much data is being pushed per second. So increase that, you increase quality, but it takes more machine to handle, so it'll likely lag more. You'll have to play around a bit to get what you want, but you can get some pretty good quality HD video at 2-3000kbps, 1500kbps or so could still manage something worthwhile if you know what you're doing (from what I've seen ... I don't know what I'm doing XoD ). At 1366x768, I imagine the 1000 - 2000kbps range should suffice.

    You could surely mess around with that command a bit to really better the end result, 'cause in all honesty, I didn't really do many tests, lol. You could go down to 24fps. You probably don't need 6 channel audio, if any at all. You can also play around with different encoding options and codecs to get better quality without raising the bitrate, and see what works best. Lots more info here:

    http://www.ffmpeg.org/ffmpeg.html#SEC6
    Last edited by GWBouge; June 17th, 2011 at 08:53 AM. Reason: Little more info
    Any advice given is the direct result of my experience solving my problems on my system. I have no idea what I'm talking about. ~bouge

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Beans
    38

    Re: Problems with all screen recorders

    Quote Originally Posted by GWBouge View Post
    Ow, yeah, I never would have guessed that, lol. No clue what to do about the audio/video sync issue, either.



    Your welcome =o)

    Simply put, bitrate is quality. How much data is being pushed per second. So increase that, you increase quality, but it takes more machine to handle, so it'll likely lag more. You'll have to play around a bit to get what you want, but you can get some pretty good quality HD video at 2-3000kbps, 1500kbps or so could still manage something worthwhile if you know what you're doing (from what I've seen ... I don't know what I'm doing XoD ). At 1366x768, I imagine the 1000 - 2000kbps range should suffice.

    You could surely mess around with that command a bit to really better the end result, 'cause in all honesty, I didn't really do many tests, lol. You could go down to 24fps. You probably don't need 6 channel audio, if any at all. You can also play around with different encoding options and codecs to get better quality without raising the bitrate, and see what works best. Lots more info here:

    http://www.ffmpeg.org/ffmpeg.html#SEC6

    Aye, thanks a lot. Much appreciated.
    Have a good day, good night, or whatever you're about to have.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Beans
    38

    Re: Problems with all screen recorders

    Quote Originally Posted by GWBouge View Post
    Ow, yeah, I never would have guessed that, lol. No clue what to do about the audio/video sync issue, either.



    Your welcome =o)

    Simply put, bitrate is quality. How much data is being pushed per second. So increase that, you increase quality, but it takes more machine to handle, so it'll likely lag more. You'll have to play around a bit to get what you want, but you can get some pretty good quality HD video at 2-3000kbps, 1500kbps or so could still manage something worthwhile if you know what you're doing (from what I've seen ... I don't know what I'm doing XoD ). At 1366x768, I imagine the 1000 - 2000kbps range should suffice.

    You could surely mess around with that command a bit to really better the end result, 'cause in all honesty, I didn't really do many tests, lol. You could go down to 24fps. You probably don't need 6 channel audio, if any at all. You can also play around with different encoding options and codecs to get better quality without raising the bitrate, and see what works best. Lots more info here:

    http://www.ffmpeg.org/ffmpeg.html#SEC6
    One more issue.
    Sound not recording o;

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Lake Placid, Florida, USA
    Beans
    2,019
    Distro
    Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Problems with all screen recorders

    Kazam Screencaster works for me .........

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Louisiana, USA
    Beans
    233

    Re: Problems with all screen recorders

    Hmm ... you might have to add something like '-i pulse -f alsa' in there before the output file. I'm fairly positive the first command I posted worked before (probably 10.04 last I used it), but I guess whatever's going on now needs you to specify what and how. I can pretty much guarantee you my sound setup is quite different than yours, so I dunno how much help I'mma be there, but there seems to be others with the same problem:

    http://www.google.com/search?q=ffmpe...d+with+x11grab
    Any advice given is the direct result of my experience solving my problems on my system. I have no idea what I'm talking about. ~bouge

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •