Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Scanning & Cached RAM

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    /dev/random
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Scanning & Cached RAM

    I was wondering why the chached RAM doesn't decrease at the same rate or near that when scanning is done & the scanning software is closed as it increases during scanning ?

    When the cached ram reaches a certain point while scanning, the software crashes & I loose my scans :S

    Is there any solution to that ?

    thanks
    [Dell Studio XPS 1640] [Core2Duo P8700 2.53GHz] [500/4GB][ATI Radeon HD 4670] [12.04/Win7]
    [Dell Inspiron 8600] [? 1.73GHz] [80/1 GB] [-] [10.04/XP]
    [No Brand] [PIII (Coppermine) 1GHz] [80GB/248 MB] [-] [#!/lubuntu 11.10/XP]

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    England
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Scanning & Cached RAM

    I can only suggest that you start whatever program you are using to scan (xsane, simple scan, etc) in terminal. You may get some error message that helps solve your problem. It's certainly not a problem I have heard of before, and assuming this is not on your debian machine with just 256 MB ram, you appear to have plenty of ram. What about swap partition size?
    DISTRO: Xubuntu 14.04-64bit --- Code-tags --- Boot-Repair --- Grub2 wiki & Grub2 Basics --- RootSudo

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    /dev/random
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Scanning & Cached RAM

    Quote Originally Posted by ajgreeny View Post
    I can only suggest that you start whatever program you are using to scan (xsane, simple scan, etc) in terminal. You may get some error message that helps solve your problem. It's certainly not a problem I have heard of before, and assuming this is not on your debian machine with just 256 MB ram, you appear to have plenty of ram. What about swap partition size?
    No way would I scan on the desktop lol. I'm using the Studio XPS w/ a swap of 5 GB

    for example, here's what free -m shows:

    Code:
    $ free -m
                 total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
    Mem:          3987       3496        490          0         14        355
    -/+ buffers/cache:       3126        860
    Swap:         4767       1322       3445
    I am still scanning (though I already saved what I was scanning before & closed gscan2pdf & am now scanning something new) & used RAM is ~80% of total.

    I hadn't had a crash today yet, but previously at some point in the 80% of RAM used, i guess, gscan used to crash; besides sometimes I can't load a .tiff i saved using gscan. It hangs.
    [Dell Studio XPS 1640] [Core2Duo P8700 2.53GHz] [500/4GB][ATI Radeon HD 4670] [12.04/Win7]
    [Dell Inspiron 8600] [? 1.73GHz] [80/1 GB] [-] [10.04/XP]
    [No Brand] [PIII (Coppermine) 1GHz] [80GB/248 MB] [-] [#!/lubuntu 11.10/XP]

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    England
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Scanning & Cached RAM

    You are using a huge amount of ram for just a simple scanning job, surely. How are you doing it, and why would it use 3GB ram plus another 1+GB swap; it seems as lot to me.

    What exactly are you doing?
    DISTRO: Xubuntu 14.04-64bit --- Code-tags --- Boot-Repair --- Grub2 wiki & Grub2 Basics --- RootSudo

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    /dev/random
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Scanning & Cached RAM

    Quote Originally Posted by ajgreeny View Post
    You are using a huge amount of ram for just a simple scanning job, surely. How are you doing it, and why would it use 3GB ram plus another 1+GB swap; it seems as lot to me.

    What exactly are you doing?
    Well, yesterday I finished scanning without a hitch; no crashing this time.

    As for why that much ram, well am here for this too. I am not sure why this is so.
    I just launch gscan2pdf, put in the papers to be scanned (individually) & click scan, that's all. The settings im using is 600 dpi

    Well it's not just scanning; I also had banshee, opera, thunderbird, OOo Writer & LyX all open lol, but nevertheless it does take that much ram even if im just scanning.

    This is what I see now after a new log in. All that's running is banshee, opera & gscan2pdf (nothing scanned yet):

    Code:
    $ free -m
                 total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
    Mem:          3987       2694       1292          0        235       1133
    -/+ buffers/cache:       1325       2661
    Swap:         4767          0       4767
    Even now, there's enough ram being used.

    As for the swap, I am not exactly sure but I believe I had it on hibernate yesterday before scanning.

    P.S.: Every time I login after a shutdown, banshee or rhythmbox hang & so does the volume control (i can't control them from the touch controls above the keyboard) until a few minutes.
    Last edited by astrobob.tk; June 17th, 2011 at 12:03 PM. Reason: addition
    [Dell Studio XPS 1640] [Core2Duo P8700 2.53GHz] [500/4GB][ATI Radeon HD 4670] [12.04/Win7]
    [Dell Inspiron 8600] [? 1.73GHz] [80/1 GB] [-] [10.04/XP]
    [No Brand] [PIII (Coppermine) 1GHz] [80GB/248 MB] [-] [#!/lubuntu 11.10/XP]

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    /dev/random
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Scanning & Cached RAM

    I thought of adding the following link for guys that, like me, misunderstand the free -m command output: http://www.chrisjohnston.org/2009/wh...much-ram-usage
    [Dell Studio XPS 1640] [Core2Duo P8700 2.53GHz] [500/4GB][ATI Radeon HD 4670] [12.04/Win7]
    [Dell Inspiron 8600] [? 1.73GHz] [80/1 GB] [-] [10.04/XP]
    [No Brand] [PIII (Coppermine) 1GHz] [80GB/248 MB] [-] [#!/lubuntu 11.10/XP]

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •