Page 1 of 13 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Ubuntu On Thinkpad W520: Your Experiences

Beans

Ubuntu On Thinkpad W520: Your Experiences

Hi everyone,

I am new to this wonderful forum, and I am already blown away by the amicability and willingness to help others (even with problems that are probably very easy to solve) that the people on this forum have. Hopefully, I can take advantage of some of your experience. Right now, I am 95% sure I am going to go for a new Thinkpad W520 in the near future; however, I wanted to get a feel for people's feelings toward it after having used the machine for awhile. In particular, I have read a few threads about dealing with nvidia optimus, the wireless card, brightness controls, the sandy bridge architecture, and hibernate/sleep (perhaps there have been other issues as well). For those who have had these or any other issues, have you found a way to correct them or at least some sort of a workaround? From the threads I've seen, it isn't so clear whether or not these issues have been solved. That, and in general, what has been your experience thus far with the W520? Thank you all for your input.

-Steve

Beans
    Distro
    Lubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Re: Ubuntu On Thinkpad W520: Your Experiences

Hi, welcome to the fora. Good that you like the 'Ubuntu' spirit

Does this help?
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1757821
    About problems due to upgrading
    Bringing old hardware back to life.
    Please visit Quick Links -> Unanswered Posts

Beans
    Distro
    Kubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

sentraser,

I have had a W520 for about a week now as an upgrade to my old W500 (I skipped the W510 generation). I have to say that this W520 has been a little challenging, although I am writing into this forum using it so it's at least functional.