Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Can Ccnnect to Network BUT NOT INTERNET???

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Beans
    15

    Can Ccnnect to Network BUT NOT INTERNET???

    Hi everyone,

    i recently installed ubuntu 10.4 on my computer as a dual boot with windows 7...to start with i was struggling to connect wirelessly to my Bt home hub network.

    After a bit of tinkering i manage to connect to the network by choosing to connect manually and entering:
    IP: 192.168.1.50
    SM: 255.255.255.0
    Router: 192.168.1.254

    But i still cant connect to the internet...i am connected to network fine but no internet?!?!f

    Can anyone give me any idea to this problem? my ISP is BT if that helps? If you need any other information just ask and i will supply, been working on this for 2 week now so could seriously use some help.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    26,047
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Can Ccnnect to Network BUT NOT INTERNET???

    Two weeks?? Why didn't you come see us? We have good news, I think we can save this patient! Please open a terminal and run and post:
    Code:
    ifconfig
    ping -c3 192.168.1.254
    ping -c3 74.125.115.147
    ping -c3 www.google.com
    As well, run and post the usual problem causer:
    Code:
    cat /etc/resolv.conf
    i manage to connect to the network by choosing to connect manually
    Uh, oh, I bet you forgot DNS nameservers.

    Thanks.
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, B.Sc., M.Sc., M.A., Ph.D., Sc.D.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Beans
    15

    Re: Can Ccnnect to Network BUT NOT INTERNET???

    hey chilli555 thanks for getting to me so quickly!

    Here are the results you wanted:

    Ipconfig:

    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr bc:ae:c5:8d:5e:32
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
    Interrupt:45 Base address:0x4000

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:32 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:32 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:2144 (2.1 KB) TX bytes:2144 (2.1 KB)

    wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1f:1f:fa:1a:69
    inet addr:192.168.1.40 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::21f:1fff:fefa:1a69/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:8 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:42 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:1032 (1.0 KB) TX bytes:8813 (8.8 KB)
    Interrupt:16 Memory:ffffc90005908000-ffffc90005908100
    ping -c3 192.168.1.254
    PING 192.168.1.254 (192.168.1.254) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_req=1 ttl=64 time=2.08 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_req=2 ttl=64 time=1.35 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_req=3 ttl=64 time=2.10 ms

    --- 192.168.1.254 ping statistics ---
    3 packets transmitted, 3 received, 0% packet loss, time 2002ms
    rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 1.355/1.849/2.104/0.349 ms

    ping -c3 74.125.115.147
    PING 74.125.115.147 (74.125.115.147) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from 74.125.115.147: icmp_req=1 ttl=48 time=189 ms
    64 bytes from 74.125.115.147: icmp_req=2 ttl=48 time=110 ms
    64 bytes from 74.125.115.147: icmp_req=3 ttl=48 time=111 ms

    --- 74.125.115.147 ping statistics ---
    3 packets transmitted, 3 received, 0% packet loss, time 2003ms
    rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 110.295/137.268/189.875/37.204 ms

    ping -c3 www.google.com
    ping: unknown host www.google.com

    cat /etc/resolv.conf
    # Generated by NetworkManager

    and in reply to your comment about DNS nameservers ummmm whats one of them lol

    Hope this is helpful thanks!!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    26,047
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Can Ccnnect to Network BUT NOT INTERNET???

    in reply to your comment about DNS nameservers ummmm whats one of them lol
    One of them is sumthin that your computer needs to work. Seriously, the internet works on numbers, not names. DNS nameservers are giant servers that will give you a number if you give it a name and then you can use that number to pull a web page. With no listing in /etc/resolv.conf, your computer says, "Google? I never heard of them:"
    Code:
    ping -c3 www.google.com
    ping: unknown host www.google.com
    When you tried Google's actual numeric IP address, there was success:
    ping -c3 74.125.115.147
    PING 74.125.115.147 (74.125.115.147) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from 74.125.115.147: icmp_req=1 ttl=48 time=189 ms
    Your router probably has good nameservers stored in it. Let's use that for a nameserver. Please do:
    Code:
    sudo su
    echo "nameserver 192.168.1.254" >> /etc/resolv.conf
    exit
    Now try:
    Code:
    ping -c3 www.google.com
    Success? If so, open Firefox and try to get a web page. Success? If so, please use thread tools at the top and mark the problem SOLVED.
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, B.Sc., M.Sc., M.A., Ph.D., Sc.D.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Beans
    15

    Re: Can Ccnnect to Network BUT NOT INTERNET???

    I hate to say it but that didnt work! NUTS!!

    here is my input:

    sudo su
    <input password>
    echo "nameserver 192.168.1.254" >> /etc/resolv.conf
    ping -c3 www.google.com
    ping: unkown host www.google.com

    Also tried loading firefox obviously no improvement...what should i try next?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Beans
    15

    Re: Can Ccnnect to Network BUT NOT INTERNET???

    I retract that last post chili555 i retried the commands you sent me and it worked like a charm!!!!

    My internet kept cutting in and out whilst typing commands so it must have cut out whilst i tried a ping without me noticing.

    Jeez should have come on here sooner!

    Thanks again!!!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •