Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
Results 31 to 38 of 38

Thread: Atheros "ath5k" Wireless Not Working

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Beans
    24

    Re: Atheros "ath5k" Wireless Not Working

    there...whew i got them all to fit!
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    21,454
    Distro
    Ubuntu 15.04 Vivid Vervet

    Re: Atheros "ath5k" Wireless Not Working

    Try this:
    Code:
    zip djes_dmesg.zip djes_dmesg.txt
    Now the zipped file will be easily within the limitations of the forum. I'm sorry I didn't suspect that from the start.

    dmesg is a listing of kernel bootup messages. Since you are running it after a clean boot, it will be unaffected by any commands, key presses, the earth's magnetic resonance (just kidding), etc. A more experienced eye can look for errors or warnings and hopefully we can find out what to fix.

    rfkill just tells us the state of the wireless key combination or physical switch. In some cases, there is a small module that reads the key presses and then turns the wireless and/or bluetooth on and off. These little modules mostly work perfectly; sometimes not.

    Oops, I missed your reply. Thanks.
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, Ph.D.

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Beans
    24

    Re: Atheros "ath5k" Wireless Not Working

    That makes sense...the magnetic field does all kinds of things to my network lol. Did you still want that zip file? I'm at work but I can get right on that this evening.

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    21,454
    Distro
    Ubuntu 15.04 Vivid Vervet

    Re: Atheros "ath5k" Wireless Not Working

    I see some very interesting things that may or may not have much to do with wireless. First, this:
    [ 0.121429] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [LNK1] (IRQs 1 3 4 5 6 7 10 11 12 14 15) *0, disabled.
    [ 0.121592] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [LNK2] (IRQs 1 3 4 *5 6 7 10 11 12 14 15)
    [ 0.121824] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [LNK3] (IRQs 1 3 4 5 6 7 10 11 *12 14 15)
    [ 0.122053] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [LNK4] (IRQs 1 3 4 5 6 7 10 *11 12 14 15)
    [ 0.122284] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [LNK5] (IRQs 1 3 4 5 6 7 *10 11 12 14 15)
    [ 0.122515] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [LNK6] (IRQs 1 3 4 5 6 7 10 11 *12 14 15)
    [ 0.122745] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [LNK7] (IRQs 1 3 4 5 6 7 *10 11 12 14 15)
    [ 0.122905] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [LNK8] (IRQs 1 3 4 5 6 7 10 11 12 14 15) *0, disabled.
    [ 0.123070] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [LNK9] (IRQs 1 3 4 5 6 7 10 *11 12 14 15)
    How are IRQs set up in the computer's BIOS? I have the best luck with Auto Select and not manually allocating IRQs. Next, this:
    [ 6.965148] ata1.00: failed command: READ DMA
    [ 6.965155] ata1.00: cmd c8/00:08:40:03:00/00:00:00:00:00/e0 tag 0 dma 4096 in
    [ 6.965157] res 51/84:00:47:03:00/00:00:00:00:00/e0 Emask 0x10 (ATA bus error)
    [ 6.965160] ata1.00: status: { DRDY ERR }
    [ 6.965163] ata1.00: error: { ICRC ABRT }
    [ 6.965179] ata1: soft resetting link
    [ 7.224442] ata1.00: configured for UDMA/66
    [ 7.240289] ata1.01: configured for UDMA/66
    [ 7.240294] ata1: EH complete
    This repeats three times. This link doesn't look good: http://www.linuxquestions.org/questi...rr-%7D-896401/
    Those certainly look like drive hardware failure errors to me.
    I think we ought to find out if ata1:00 is your CDROM (not so bad) or your harddrive (very bad). I'm working on that now.

    Next, this:
    [ 7.804348] Buffer I/O error on device sda, logical block 832
    [ 7.804351] Buffer I/O error on device sda, logical block 833
    [ 7.804354] Buffer I/O error on device sda, logical block 834
    [ 7.804357] Buffer I/O error on device sda, logical block 835
    [ 7.804359] Buffer I/O error on device sda, logical block 836
    [ 7.804362] Buffer I/O error on device sda, logical block 837
    [ 7.804365] Buffer I/O error on device sda, logical block 838
    [ 7.804368] Buffer I/O error on device sda, logical block 839
    [ 7.804378] ata1: EH complete
    [ 8.399711] EXT4-fs (sda1): INFO: recovery required on readonly filesystem
    [ 8.399719] EXT4-fs (sda1): write access will be enabled during recovery
    [ 9.278829] EXT4-fs (sda1): orphan cleanup on readonly fs
    [ 9.278849] EXT4-fs (sda1): ext4_orphan_cleanup: deleting unreferenced inode 1312019
    [ 9.278941] EXT4-fs (sda1): ext4_orphan_cleanup: deleting unreferenced inode 1311540
    [ 9.278955] EXT4-fs (sda1): 2 orphan inodes deleted
    [ 9.278958] EXT4-fs (sda1): recovery complete
    sda1 is a partition on your harddrive. While errors were found, the system recovered. You might see if the previous boot reported the same thing:
    Code:
    sudo cat /var/log/dmesg.0 | grep -i err
    This may be helpful: https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...ux/+bug/530649
    I had a physical port on my sata bus which was dying. I moved the drive to another port and I no longer receive these error notifications.
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, Ph.D.

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    21,454
    Distro
    Ubuntu 15.04 Vivid Vervet

    Re: Atheros "ath5k" Wireless Not Working

    Quote Originally Posted by Djesurun1 View Post
    That makes sense...the magnetic field does all kinds of things to my network lol. Did you still want that zip file? I'm at work but I can get right on that this evening.
    Nope. I stitched them all back together. Please see my reply above.
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, Ph.D.

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Beans
    24

    Re: Atheros "ath5k" Wireless Not Working

    I think I have an explanation for that, one of my cd drives gets power but doesn't function. It opens closes and spins but never reads the disk. I'll try to just disconnect it and see if that gets rid if the message tonight.

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Beans
    24

    Re: Atheros "ath5k" Wireless Not Working

    Sorry its been a while since i logged in but heres an update. I am on the Internet wireless =) I bought a new wireless network card and it just simply connected. Guess maybe my old one is no good? Anyways thank you SO much more the advice and time. By the way my old card was a Netgear WG311T PCI and the new one was a usb Belkin N150 $20 at walmart lol.

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Beans
    1

    Re: Atheros "ath5k" Wireless Not Working

    try installing madwifi, here's a guide:
    http://ubuntucrack.blogspot.in/2010_07_18_archive.html

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •