Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: dsl problem no etho 0

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Abohar, Punjab, INDIA
    Beans
    24
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Lightbulb dsl problem no etho 0

    1. i use a DSL connection
    2. when i installed Ubuntu 11.04 it was fine and it showed 2 networks one was eth0 and other was DSL-1(which i created using network manager->dsl->add->then by filling user name and password)
    3. then one day i tried pppoeconf after that i was not able to view my dsl-1 connection and etho-0 on network manager indicator,
    4. then i googled and i changed /etc/network/interfaces
    5. now i see only one connection that is DSL-1 and my firefox do not open yahoo home page and several other website(which may be due to ipv6 conflict but i disabled it and still it has same problem it says loading.. loading and nothing comes up)
    6. anyone having solution Please come up
    Last edited by harvindercs; June 5th, 2011 at 01:52 PM. Reason: spelling mistakes

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    43° 7' 41" 131° 54' 3"
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: dsl problem no etho 0

    In a terminal issue the command "sudo pon dsl-provider" and see if you connect. Then the command "sudo poff dsl-provider" will disconnect.
    EasyBCD.
    PrintersDatabase
    Boot Info Script: How to
    The post above and the post below suffer from the Rashomon effect!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Abohar, Punjab, INDIA
    Beans
    24
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Smile Re: dsl problem no etho 0

    Quote Originally Posted by jtarin View Post
    In a terminal issue the command "sudo pon dsl-provider" and see if you connect. Then the command "sudo poff dsl-provider" will disconnect.
    i can connect, it works but as i said some websites wont load, including yahoo and eth0 is not shown by network-manager
    my configuration of /etc/network/interfaces is
    Code:
     auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
    and this command sudo pon dsl-provider it is used in pppoeconf that i dont want to use agian

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Abohar, Punjab, INDIA
    Beans
    24
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: dsl problem no etho 0

    i solved it, it was MTU problem

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    ozarks, Arkansas, USA
    Beans
    5,996
    Distro
    Xubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: dsl problem no etho 0

    outstanding! ... on same note, did you purge the old pppoeconf ?
    Code:
    sudo apt-get --purge remove pppoeconf
    This is to prevent any future conflicts with any remaining config files.

    regards <==BDQ

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Abohar, Punjab, INDIA
    Beans
    24
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Smile Re: dsl problem no etho 0

    Quote Originally Posted by Bashing-om View Post
    outstanding! ... on same note, did you purge the old pppoeconf ?
    Code:
    sudo apt-get --purge remove pppoeconf
    This is to prevent any future conflicts with any remaining config files.

    regards <==BDQ
    thanks bud! i will purge it

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •