Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Suggestions for a Bachelor Thesis Project!

Beans

Smile Suggestions for a Bachelor Thesis Project!

Next spring I'm doing my Bachelor Thesis Project in Software Development and have started thinking about what I should make. I figure I have two possible choices if I want to do something that will be used and apprechiated.

1. I ask a company to specify something they need.
    2. I build something for the ubuntu/linux community.

I'd really prefer the second option since I'm a huge fan of open scource and would like to contribute something to the community. But what would be the most used/apprechiated? That's where you come in!

What kind of application do you miss in linux? Is there something you think would be a great tool or convenience? Do you have an interesting idea for a game? Any thoughts are welcomed!

The main thing for me is that it should be a piece of software that many people can benefit from.

The project spans over about 16 weeks and the ideal conclusion would be to make the software available through the repositories when it's done.

I hope we can together come up with some fun and interesting ideas!

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Re: Suggestions for a Bachelor Thesis Project!

Is this a 'Thesis' or a Dev Project?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

I'm having trouble thinking of something that could be built in 16 weeks that the Ubuntu/Linux community doesn't already have.

Can you do any of these in 16 weeks? http://www.fsf.org/campaigns/priority-projects/

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by jhonan View Post
    Is this a 'Thesis' or a Dev Project?
    It's a dev project. The reason why I frased it that way is because I live in Sweden and the system is a bit different.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

I want:

j/k
    "Act only according to that maxim by which you can also will that it would become a universal law." - Immanuel Kant