Thread: Easy Broadcom BCM4312 Activation - No Internet Needed

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Lightbulb Easy Broadcom BCM4312 Activation - No Internet Needed

I'm posting this in absolute beginner in the hopes it may help some new user(s) with a fresh Ubuntu installation. I will post some caveats because:

1. I did not test on Kubuntu, Xubuntu, etc., only Ubuntu
    2. I do not know if this will work for all BCM43xx cards that use the STA (wl) driver, but it works for my BCM4312.

When I install Ubuntu I always do so from the live session. My first step is to get my wireless going and to enable the STA driver for the BCM4312, it's as simple as:

1. Do NOT connect to ethernet. You can connect and get the same result, but then you are not installing the firmware and driver directly from the LiveCD.

2. When the restricted driver icon appears, click install driver and follow the prompts to activate the STA driver. Or you can immediately go to Additional Drivers and enable it without waiting on a prompt to do so from the system.

3. When the system prompts you that it must restart to enable the device, DO NOT RESTART! You are in a live session and a restart will simply start a fresh live session and it will not remember anything from the previous session.

4. Instead of restarting, simply open a terminal and
    Code:
    sudo modprobe wl
    5. Wait a few moments (up to about a minute I think) and then you should see wireless networks from the network icon on the upper panel.

6. Enter any passwords for network security that are required and enjoy.

Once you have wireless enabled on your system you can begin the installation process. By doing so the system enables the wireless on the fresh install and once you restart the machine you should have an already working wireless device. Plus you can still install all updates, restricted codecs, etc. during install.