Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Netbook connected to TV, some of the image is cut off

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Beans
    25

    Netbook connected to TV, some of the image is cut off

    I have my Acer Aspire One netbook hooked up to an LCD TV via a VGA cable. The resolution is just fine, but the image is cut off just slightly on the right. I've already used the TV's image positioning feature to move it to the left as much as I can, but some of the image is still cut off.

    Any suggestions on how to fix this?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Beans
    7,037
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Netbook connected to TV, some of the image is cut off

    What resolution are you trying to display on your TV?
    Does your TV supports that one?
    Have you tried standard TV resolutions like 1280x720 or 1980x1080?

    Regards.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Beans
    25

    Re: Netbook connected to TV, some of the image is cut off

    The resolution I'm running is 1360x768, and the TV seems to support it just fine. There's no stretching or anything.

    The other thing I've tried is running it at a more "standard" resolution like 1024x768, and with the TV set to a 4:3 aspect ratio. With that setting, there's no stretching, but the image isn't widescreen, which isn't optimal.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Beans
    7,037
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Netbook connected to TV, some of the image is cut off

    Test TV a standard resolution like 1280x720.

    Regards.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Beans
    25

    Re: Netbook connected to TV, some of the image is cut off

    The only options that XFCE display control panel has are 1360x768, 1024x768, 832x624, 800x600, 640x480, and 720x400.

    Like I said, I've tried settings like 1024x768, but they aren't widescreen,

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Beans
    25

    Re: Netbook connected to TV, some of the image is cut off

    Alright, nevermind. I unplugged it and plugged it back in, and I guess when it auto-adjusted it fixed it. Thanks for the help anyways.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •