Thread: Recover from busybox/initramfs 8.04 NTFS

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

Recover from busybox/initramfs 8.04 NTFS

I either installed Hardy heron or its predecessor by accident, but began running it exclusively. I did it way back when while trying to create a test drive disk, and I did not repartition the drive, because all my ******* NT stuff survived. I'm now 8.04. Yesterday I had a bunch of updates to do, did them, closed a ton of windows and then pulled up 3 open office files and each, when it came up said there wasn't enough space to save all needed information as they opened. I then closed them and one hung and froze the whole machine, leading me to do a reset. This is BEFORE rebooting from the updates.

Now when I boot into Ubuntu (I'm dual boot) I start to get the opening Ubuntu GUI screen but then get :
    BusyBox V1.1.3 (Debian 1.1.1.3-5ubuntu12)built in shell (ash) line followed by:
    initramfs)

I'm essentially a total noob, I've rarely used command line and not for a long time.

I made a version 11.04 live disk, and it says that the file system is clean, but will not show me any of my old files, only the NT files and directories. I have a ton of unbacked up important data in Hardy Heron so I don't want to do an install from the 11.04 CD.

I've read several threads so far, and can't seem to find anything addressing this that I understand. The drive is a 160GB drive on an HP Pavilion dual core that has a 154GB NTFS boot partition, which is where I'm sure the Hardy Heron files are, and a 6GB FAT32 HP_RECOVERY partition that ******* lists ad drive D (the NTFS is C) The live disk says the FAT32 partition is /dev/sda1 and the NTFS is /dev/sda2

Where should I start? I've seen stuff about booting into recovery mode, but that isn't an option when I boot from the hard drive, and the only older ubuntu disk I have is for 7.something and generates "defective CD" type error messages.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat