Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Replace gnome panel in Ubuntu Classic (11.04)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Beans
    38
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Replace gnome panel in Ubuntu Classic (11.04)

    Hi,

    In previous releases of Ubuntu it was possible to replace the gnome panel (with AWN for example) by going into gconf-editor and replacing gnome-panel with the panel of my choice (see screen)

    Unfortunately this doesn't seem to have an affect on Ubuntu Classic desktop.

    Does anyone know how to do it with Natty (replace gnome-panel with AWN)?


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Beans
    17

    Re: Replace gnome panel in Ubuntu Classic (11.04)

    I am having a similar issue. My system has 2 user accounts, both admin. Prior to upgrading to Natty, I had panels disabled and only AWN loaded on startup. Upon upgrading, gnome-panel is back to loading on both accounts. I went with the gconf-editor approach, and it worked for my girlfriend's account, although I can't get rid of the one persistent gnome-panel (I made it transparent and removed all applets from the panel, auto-hide and threw it in bottom-left corner so she won't notice a difference)

    My account, however, will only load gnome-panel.. the only way to load AWN at all is through an "avant-window-navigator" command in Terminal (and it only stays open as long as Terminal does).

    I'm surprised Ubuntu would mess with our settings like this!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Here
    Beans
    9,707

    Re: Replace gnome panel in Ubuntu Classic (11.04)

    Run the command with alt+f2, not the terminal.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Kansas City, KS
    Beans
    1,274
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: Replace gnome panel in Ubuntu Classic (11.04)

    If the gconf-editor setting isn't being read, then there are two options. The first is to use Compiz's Widget Layer plugin to make Gnome Panel a widget object - you'll theoretically never see it, but it's not ideal, because it still loads. The other is to locate the binary and simply disable it by unmarking it as executable. It's in /usr/bin .

    For AWN, just make it a startup application. You might need to delay it, as

    sleep 40s; avant-window-navigator

    because it may be loading but coming up invisible, an odd and unpredictable error I never found the cause of before I stopped using a full Gnome session.
    ~ I know I shouldn't use tildes for decoration, but they always make me feel at home. ~

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Beans
    38
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Replace gnome panel in Ubuntu Classic (11.04)

    Quote Originally Posted by Copper Bezel View Post
    If the gconf-editor setting isn't being read, then there are two options. The first is to use Compiz's Widget Layer plugin to make Gnome Panel a widget object - you'll theoretically never see it, but it's not ideal, because it still loads. The other is to locate the binary and simply disable it by unmarking it as executable. It's in /usr/bin .

    For AWN, just make it a startup application. You might need to delay it, as

    sleep 40s; avant-window-navigator

    because it may be loading but coming up invisible, an odd and unpredictable error I never found the cause of before I stopped using a full Gnome session.
    Thanks Copper Bezel, I was hoping to avoid a situation like that as it's a pretty dirty hack, but alas, I have no other option. I'll change the binary.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Here
    Beans
    9,707

    Re: Replace gnome panel in Ubuntu Classic (11.04)

    the problem is there was a change, you guys have old settings, on a clean install it looks like this.(see pic)

    i looked at the script, no setting for panel.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by kerry_s; May 19th, 2011 at 09:26 AM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Kansas City, KS
    Beans
    1,274
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: Replace gnome panel in Ubuntu Classic (11.04)

    I have similar feelings about disabling the binary, which is why I hope someone using 11.04 will drop in with a real solution for the new gconf. It never occurred to me that gconf, necessarily, can't clean out old entries for depracated settings. Yuck. This is the sort of thing that makes me want to have as little to do with gconf as possible (and I thank God for CompizStandalone on this.)
    Last edited by Copper Bezel; May 19th, 2011 at 11:21 AM.
    ~ I know I shouldn't use tildes for decoration, but they always make me feel at home. ~

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Beans
    38
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Replace gnome panel in Ubuntu Classic (11.04)

    I disabled the binary by marking it as not executable. It worked BUT I lost my alt-f2 run dialog.

    Reverting back to gnome-panel.

    I must say, I'm getting a little bit more ticked off by some of the changes made to Ubuntu in 11.04 -- I won't even begin to talk about Unity. It feels as if users are being locked down more and more. One of the beauties of Ubuntu (and Linux in general) is the fact that it's so customizable.

    Sure I can move to another distribution but I really think the Ubuntu community is the best. I don't want to loose that.

    Anyway, I guess I need to find new ways of working within Ubuntu.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Kansas City, KS
    Beans
    1,274
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: Replace gnome panel in Ubuntu Classic (11.04)

    Oh, Alt+F2 is a Gnome Panel feature, so you can't have the one without the other. Alternatives exist, however - xfce4-utils includes xfrun4, which is comparable to the Gnome Run Dialog, and KDE's krunner works quite handily as well, sort of how you'd expect an AWNish replacement for Gnome's to behave. I've taken to using Synapse as a replacement for both the Run Dialog and the Main Menu - it's very smart and quick.
    ~ I know I shouldn't use tildes for decoration, but they always make me feel at home. ~

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Here
    Beans
    9,707

    Re: Replace gnome panel in Ubuntu Classic (11.04)

    okay, i found where they moved it to.
    look in "/usr/share/gnome-session/sessions" you'll see "classic-gnome.session" open that with a root text editor.

    ps: i use gexec for alt+f2 when i disable gnome-panel, just disable the stock & create with gexec as the command.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by kerry_s; May 19th, 2011 at 03:01 PM.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •