Page 3 of 13 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 129

Thread: Unable to access certain websites from Ubuntu

  1. #21
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Planet Earth, Milky Way
    Beans
    50
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Unable to access certain websites from Ubuntu

    Hello Scott,

    I believe it worked off the LiveCD. Yes it did. I'm sure. But I don't remember if I opened Hotmail or other websites, that are now giving the problem, then.

    I don't have the LiveCD now. A friend has borrowed it.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    43° 7' 41" 131° 54' 3"
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Unable to access certain websites from Ubuntu

    Quote Originally Posted by DemianDemerzel View Post
    Yes, JTarin.

    I did follow the post. Nothing happens when I give the command /etc/resolv.conf.

    However, if I remove the dot from the command and write /etc/resolvconf I am directed to a new window and then to a new folder.

    The folder reads update-libc.d and inside I find avahi-daemon.

    On double clicking on avahi-daemon, I'm presented with an option to RUN it.

    Thanks!
    The command is not "/etc/resolv.conf". The command is gksudo gedit /etc/resolv.conf". If you can't find that file then that's the problem.
    EasyBCD.
    PrintersDatabase
    Boot Info Script: How to
    The post above and the post below suffer from the Rashomon effect!

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Beans
    117
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Unable to access certain websites from Ubuntu

    Are you behind a proxy server? I don't know much about them, but I believe it could be the source of your problem.
    110010100
    My Blog

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    43° 7' 41" 131° 54' 3"
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Unable to access certain websites from Ubuntu

    I was going to suggest try a proxy server the destination site might be blocking.
    EasyBCD.
    PrintersDatabase
    Boot Info Script: How to
    The post above and the post below suffer from the Rashomon effect!

  5. #25
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Planet Earth, Milky Way
    Beans
    50
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Unable to access certain websites from Ubuntu

    I'm sorry JTarin. I didn't understand.

    This is what I get after following the command.

    =================================

    # Generated by NetworkManager
    nameserver 218.248.255.196
    nameserver 218.248.255.194

    =================================

    Should I change it to what you suggest?

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Peterborough, Uk
    Beans
    630
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: Unable to access certain websites from Ubuntu

    Quote Originally Posted by DemianDemerzel View Post
    I'm sorry JTarin. I didn't understand.

    This is what I get after following the command.

    =================================

    # Generated by NetworkManager
    nameserver 218.248.255.196
    nameserver 218.248.255.194

    =================================

    Should I change it to what you suggest?

    That command on my system gives..

    # Generated by NetworkManager
    nameserver 192.168.0.1
    Which is the ip of my router

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    South Dakota
    Beans
    1,133
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Arrow Re: Unable to access certain websites from Ubuntu

    Quote Originally Posted by jtarin View Post
    OK...your using Natty so I don't kbnowif this will work...try the ALT + F2 keys. There should be a dialogue pop-up on your desktop. In that dialogue type gnome-terminal. The terminal will open and then you can proceed as directed in my last post.

    I used 11.04 Natty Nahrwall from alpha 3 through release. That I could tell, It is not any different with respect to key bindings or command line. Where the difference lies is in some of the navigation in the gui.


    Quote Originally Posted by DemianDemerzel View Post
    I read in Connection Information that ipv6 is "ignored."

    What do you mean by "make sure it's set correctly?"

    It reads:

    Preference Name: general.useragent.locale
    Status: User Set
    Type: String
    Value: en-US

    Is it correct or not?

    And don't worry. You tried and that's what matters!

    Ipv6 is not something you need to mess with. I'm not entirely familiar with it but I think it is some more advanced way of configuring your connection to your router. Mine is ignored and I think most poeple's is unless they're trying to use remote access or something like that. The only concern would be if it is set up and set up wrong somehow. But don't let it worry you for now.

    I read through this string and am not sure anyone has mentioned it yet. You can access your terminal by pressing ctrl+alt+t. You can exit it by typing the word "exit" onto the line in there and pressing enter. If you haven't opened on up yet to check it out go ahead and do that a couple times just to see what it's like. You can also exit the terminal by clicking the x in the corner of the window (just like any other window).

    One thing you can do to trouble shoot this is install a different web browser onto the machine and then try to go to those sites with it. You will discover whether it is just firefox that is the problem or if it is something with the system beyond it. I use Opera and it is a stable web browser. You can remove it when you are done if you want but it will help you to get and answer that narrows things down. To do this follow these staps.

    Open a terminal widow by pressing ctrl+alt+t

    After that enter the following code into the terminal window then press enter.

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install opera
    After you enter that and press enter you will be asked for your password. Go ahead and enter it and then press enter. It will begin to install opera. You may be asked to confirm the installation. If so, just type y on the line and press enter.

    Once that is done type "opera" onto the line in the terminal and press enter. This will launch opera and you can use it in the normal way to try to go to those sites.

    Please let us know what happens.

    If a time comes you want to remove opera you can type the following into the terminal to accomplish it.

    Code:
    sudo apt-get remove opera
    “ The best method for accelerating a computer is the one that boosts it by 9.8 m/s2. ”
    - Anonymous

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    South Dakota
    Beans
    1,133
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Arrow Re: Unable to access certain websites from Ubuntu

    Quote Originally Posted by DemianDemerzel View Post
    I'm sorry JTarin. I didn't understand.

    This is what I get after following the command.

    =================================

    # Generated by NetworkManager
    nameserver 218.248.255.196
    nameserver 218.248.255.194

    =================================

    Should I change it to what you suggest?

    As a side note:

    This is what a proxy server is:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Proxy_server

    Unless a person intentionally sets it up they probably don't have to worry about that. It is a process you have to go through to set it up in the first place.

    Let's try the simple and safe solutions first. Ok?

    We'll get this brother. Between us here at the forum - we got your back man.


    “ The best method for accelerating a computer is the one that boosts it by 9.8 m/s2. ”
    - Anonymous

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    43° 7' 41" 131° 54' 3"
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Unable to access certain websites from Ubuntu

    Quote Originally Posted by DemianDemerzel View Post
    I'm sorry JTarin. I didn't understand.

    This is what I get after following the command.

    =================================

    # Generated by NetworkManager
    nameserver 218.248.255.196
    nameserver 218.248.255.194

    =================================

    Should I change it to what you suggest?
    Record those numbers in case you want to change back and then substitute with the ones I posted. If it works we'll make it permanent.
    Are you in New Delhi with BSNLNET?
    EasyBCD.
    PrintersDatabase
    Boot Info Script: How to
    The post above and the post below suffer from the Rashomon effect!

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    43° 7' 41" 131° 54' 3"
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Unable to access certain websites from Ubuntu

    Quote Originally Posted by Swagman View Post
    That command on my system gives..



    Which is the ip of my router
    And your router contains your nameserver information.
    EasyBCD.
    PrintersDatabase
    Boot Info Script: How to
    The post above and the post below suffer from the Rashomon effect!

Page 3 of 13 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •