Thread: 11.04 Touchscreen calibration

Beans

11.04 Touchscreen calibration

Hi, I'm a Noob.

Just installed Ubuntu and Xubuntu on several machines and all going well except...

I can't find a way to calibrate a touchscreen, I'm using a Microtouch EXII and all the info on the net seems to be out of date, links to driver downloads are dead.

Evdev seems to half work, the device is recognised and sort of works but the X axis is inverted and the cursor position needs a little calibrating, I cannot work out how to do this. Surely thre must be a calibration function built in somewhere?

Beans

Re: 11.04 Touchscreen calibration

For the benefit of anyone else who might be struggling to calibrate a touchscreen under Ubuntu 11.04 this is what I did.

The driver is evdev, this is installed by default. Settings are found in /usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d/10-evdev.conf

You'll need to be root to edit the file.

You can use
    Code:
    Option  "InvertX" "true"
    or
    Code:
    Option "InvertY" "true"
    if you need to.

In a terminal window type "sudo evtest /dev/input/eventX"

Try various numbers for "X", each one will be a different input device, my touchscreen was event5 yours may well be different.

Now watching the output of evtest, touch the four corners of the screen one at a time make a note of the coordinates. Note the lowest and highest value each for the X and Y axes.

In 10-evdev.conf create the option

Code:
    Option  "Calibration" "minx maxx miny maxy"
    Replacing minx maxx miny maxy with the figures you got from evtest.

I wasted a lot of time on this, trying all sorts of calibration utilities, none of which worked. I couldn't believe how simple it is and that nobody had written a guide.
    I'm using a 3M MicroTouch EXII but this should work for any touchscreen as far as I can see.

Don't blame me if it doesn't I'm very new to Linux.
    Last edited by kingstonandy; May 16th, 2011 at 07:52 AM.

Beans
    Hidden!