Thread: Can I install virtualbox on windows xp?

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu

Can I install virtualbox on windows xp?

I have never used VirtualBox before. But a friend wants me to install VirtualBox on his Windows XP machine, so he can try Ubuntu. While installing VirtualBox (on Windows XP), I encountered a warning stating that "The software you are installing has not passed Windows Logo testing to verify its compatability with Windows XP". My questions are: Should I ignore this warning? Is it safe to install and run VirtualBox on Windows XP. Have you installed Virtualbox on a computer running Windows XP. Thanks...

Beans
    Distro
    Kubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

Re: Can I install virtualbox on windows xp?

I don't know what you downloaded or where you downloaded it from. I can't recommend trusting the software.

The Windows Logo testing dialog would be a normal warning when installing uncertified drivers on Windows. VirtualBox does include drivers needed for (IIRC) directing network and USB access toward virtual machines. I would expect to see such a warning dialog when installing Virtualbox.

Having said all that, I know that I used Virtualbox on Windows for years with no trouble.

wojox is offline I Ubuntu, Therefore, I Am
    Beans

I've run it on XP and Vista with no problems. I never got that dialog box before. Did you download from the Virtualbox website?

Beans
    Distro
    Kubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

Quote Originally Posted by wojox View Post
    I've run it on XP and Vista with no problems. I never got that dialog box before. Did you download from the Virtualbox website?
    Had you disabled signature checking?

@OP, did you check your downloaded file against the MD5 and SHA256 hashes provided on the VirtualBox Downloads page?

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu