Thread: Natty automounting, and installation

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

Natty automounting, and installation

Hello there,

Well I have been using ubuntu for a couple of months now, and I have a question in regards to automounting. But I also had a question why Natty didn't allow me to specify a personal location for my partition to be mounted.

Ok here I start.

So I have a acer netbook that I am really fond of, It has 120gb hard disk, 25 gb for my ubuntu, and 95 for whatever backup and files I use for my daily task.

Initially when I installed maverick, I was able to enter the location for my partition to be mounted at start-up. I like to be practical and I always mounted my partion as my desktop, thus whenever I download or work or do anything on my desktop it is always saved in my 95gb hard disk.

thus the mount point would be

/home/username/desktop

I find this the best and most efficient way of using two partitions.

However during installion of natty, I was not able to edit the location itself, I was only able to choose between the different prefixed drop-down menu, thus I didn't choose any location for mounting during installation.

After my installation I installed mountmanager & pysdm, and specified that they should mount my 95gb partition on desktop.

The mounting does happen, I am satisfied that I am able to see all my files, however the problem is, that the partition is not automounting, and that I am not able to edit/delete/remove/relocate any files, I can open folders and open files but that is about it.

Thus two things that I need, how to tell fstab to automount, and how to make my 95gb partition writeable.

my fstab file is as follows:

proc /proc proc nodev,noexec,nosuid 0 0
    UUID=ae7741d5-2361-44ac-8ba8-1b6dad6025ad / ext4 errors=remount-ro 0 1
    UUID=c00ae2bd-f572-4447-baa7-a89a5eb296a7 none swap sw 0 0
    /dev/sda2 /home/zerberus/Desktop ext4 defaults 0 0

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal