Page 8 of 9 FirstFirst ... 6789 LastLast
Results 71 to 80 of 81

Thread: natty: vgaswitcheroo, blacklist and modprobing!

  1. #71
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Beans
    5

    Re: natty: vgaswitcheroo, blacklist and modprobing!

    Yeah, I hope so.

    Here is what I did:

    First, I (foolishly) upgraded via update manager.
    Well, that went down badly, so I download the image and do a clean install - still no good.

    Even with the LiveCD I have to use nomodeset. :S

  2. #72
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: natty: vgaswitcheroo, blacklist and modprobing!

    Meanwhile, browse through the phoronix-forums - http://www.phoronix.com/forums/

  3. #73
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Beans
    1

    Re: natty: vgaswitcheroo, blacklist and modprobing!

    Quote Originally Posted by mexicanseaf00d View Post
    I'm such a fool..

    just added
    Code:
    modprobe radeon
    to the rc.local... doh



    this comment saved my laptop!!!! . awesme work !!!! thanks!!

  4. #74
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Beans
    20

    Re: natty: vgaswitcheroo, blacklist and modprobing!

    My solution in order to have the Discrete ATI graphics always Off and only use the Integrated Intel card is to make the following changes:

    • Blacklisting of the radeon driver:
      Create /etc/modprobe.d/vgaswitcheroo.conf and add
      Code:
      blacklist radeon
    • Service that controls the card
      Create /etc/init.d/vgaswitcheroo and add
      Code:
      #!/bin/sh -e
      #
      # This script is executed at the end of each multiuser runlevel.
      # Make sure that the script will "exit 0" on success or any other
      # value on error.
      #
      
      COMMAND="$1"
      
      case "$COMMAND" in
      restart|start)
      	echo "Switching off Radeon dedicated graphics"
      	modprobe radeon
      	echo OFF > /sys/kernel/debug/vgaswitcheroo/switch
      	;;
      stop)
      	echo "Switching on Radeon dedicated graphics"
      	echo ON > /sys/kernel/debug/vgaswitcheroo/switch
      	;;
      status)
      	cat /sys/kernel/debug/vgaswitcheroo/switch
      	;;
      esac
      
      exit 0
    • Make the service called by default
      Run these commands:
      Code:
      cd /etc/rc2.d
      ln -s ../init.d/vgaswitcheroo S21vgaswitcheroo
    • Make sure it works on hibernate
      In /etc/hibernate/common.conf add the following line
      Code:
      RestartServices vgaswitcheroo
    Last edited by andrikos; April 23rd, 2012 at 05:39 PM.

  5. #75
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Bangalore
    Beans
    55

    Re: natty: vgaswitcheroo, blacklist and modprobing!

    Quote Originally Posted by andrikos View Post
    My solution in order to have the Discrete ATI graphics always Off and only use the Integrated Intel card is to make the following changes:

    • Blacklisting of the radeon driver:
      Create /etc/modprobe.d/vgaswitcheroo.conf and add
      Code:
      blacklist radeon
    • Service that controls the card
      Create /etc/init.d/vgaswitcheroo and add
      Code:
      #!/bin/sh -e
      #
      # This script is executed at the end of each multiuser runlevel.
      # Make sure that the script will "exit 0" on success or any other
      # value on error.
      #
      
      COMMAND="$1"
      
      case "$COMMAND" in
      restart|start)
      	echo "Switching off Radeon dedicated graphics"
      	modprobe radeon
      	echo OFF > /sys/kernel/debug/vgaswitcheroo/switch
      	;;
      stop)
      	echo "Switching on Radeon dedicated graphics"
      	echo ON > /sys/kernel/debug/vgaswitcheroo/switch
      	;;
      status)
      	cat /sys/kernel/debug/vgaswitcheroo/switch
      	;;
      esac
      
      exit 0
    • Make the service called by default
      Run these commands:
      Code:
      cd /etc/rc2.d
      ln -s ../init.d/vgaswitcheroo S21vgaswitcheroo
    • Make sure it works on hibernate
      In /etc/hibernate/common.conf add the following line
      Code:
      RestartServices vgaswitcheroo
    Removing nomodeset and blacklisting radeon doesn't work for me as the display switches off without nomodeset

  6. #76
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Beans
    20

    Re: natty: vgaswitcheroo, blacklist and modprobing!

    Quote Originally Posted by lgp171188 View Post
    Removing nomodeset and blacklisting radeon doesn't work for me as the display switches off without nomodeset
    I think nomodeset is essential for this to work.
    The default ubuntu kernels already have this option enabled.

  7. #77
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Indiana
    Beans
    4
    Distro
    Ubuntu 6.10 Edgy

    Re: natty: vgaswitcheroo, blacklist and modprobing!

    The procedure described by Andrikos worked for Lenovo g770 with Intel core i5-2410M with hybrid Integrated graphics + AMD Radeon HD6650M running Ubuntu v.12.04 LTS. After making the script executable and rebooting, the Radeon graphics was powered off and computer/cpu temps went from 50-60 C to 30-40 C. I was not able to complete the final hibernate step of the procedure because I could not save the file for some reason. It still works fine.

    Many thanks to all who spent considerable effort to solve this hybrid issue with Intel processors.

    dal

  8. #78
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Beans
    1

    Re: natty: vgaswitcheroo, blacklist and modprobing!

    Hey guys

    I'm completely new with Ubuntu, and I have really very little experience with it. So I need a lot of HELP!!!

    I have a sony vaio VPCSB with switchable graphics (intel HD 3000 and Radeon6410). I tried to install the drivers for the graphics cards by using the additional drivers function of Ubuntu, but that really didn't help anything. As Im a complete noob at these things, could you list the exact steps that I need to do to get the graphics working (at least intel). Without it Im unable to finish my assignment, so Its really urgent.

  9. #79
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: natty: vgaswitcheroo, blacklist and modprobing!

    uninstall fglrx drivers (google how to do that)!

    then

    1) in a terminal: sudo -i
    2) edit /etc/rc.local, add following before "exit 0":
    Code:
    modprobe radeon
    echo OFF > /sys/kernel/debug/vgaswitcheroo/switch
    3) edit /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf, add
    Code:
    blacklist radeon
    0




    Also look at this thread http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1930450

  10. #80
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Hungary
    Beans
    8
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

    Re: natty: vgaswitcheroo, blacklist and modprobing!

    I have got a HP ProBook 4740s
    One of my problems with the NB was this overheating (60C in normal conditions - very incomfortable under my left wrist - now it's about 45C, still warm, but OK) and poor battery life (under 2 hours - now it is over 5).
    Now both have been solved with the help of this topic and other resources, but I have got a new one:

    system completely freezes after waking up from standby/sleep state, or when I press fn+f4 to change the monitor configuration.

    I have read, that it should have been solved with the /etc/pm/sleep.d/whatever script, but it had not solved the problem at all. Anyone to advice anything?

    Currently I have this in rc.local:

    modprobe radeon
    sleep 2
    echo OFF > /sys/kernel/debug/vgaswitcheroo/switch

    # grep radeon /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf
    blacklist radeon

    # cat /etc/pm/sleep.d/11_switcheroo_suspend
    #!/bin/bash
    case "${1}" in
    hibernate|suspend)
    modprobe radeon
    echo ON > /sys/kernel/debug/vgaswitcheroo/switch
    ;;
    resume|thaw)
    echo OFF > /sys/kernel/debug/vgaswitcheroo/switch
    ;;
    esac

    The scripts are executable, and the VGA config is OK after a fresh boot. If I put the NB in standby state, it can wake up a few minutes later, but if I do this at night, the PC won't wake up in the morning! I can see the closed X11 screen, but mouse ptr doesn't move, even CapsLock doesn't work, so it is stoned perfectly.

    Earlier I have also tried the closed-source driver from Ati. It was not bad at all, but there didn't exist a way to put the PC in sleep state at all! Now I think I know why but I hope I'm wrong, and it should be possible somehow!
    Last edited by heidricha; April 26th, 2013 at 10:42 AM.

Page 8 of 9 FirstFirst ... 6789 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •