Thread: problems with v.11.04 after upgrade

Beans

problems with v.11.04 after upgrade

I have upgraded from ubuntu v. 10.10 (ultimate edition v. 2.9) to ubuntu 11.04 and after fixing many major problems I am left with a couple minor problems though extremly irritating that may make me go back to 10.10 if I cannot resolve it. I cannot get my wallpaper to change. no matter what background I change it to it always stays as a solid grey color. Does anyone know how to fix this? Also none of the animations nor the cube in compiz work. All I get is wobbly windows and the wall. does anyone know how to fix this? I am using unity. I have installed the latest nvidia graphics card driver. does anyone know how to attach things like launchers to the top panel while using unity, or is it just not possible? is it possible to change the top panel's theme in unity? when i change the theme only the windows change but not the panel. btw im new to linux im in my last 2 weeks of an intermediate linux class. I thank you in advance to anyone that can offer me any advice as ive been wrestling with this all day instead of getting my homework done.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Re: problems with v.11.04 after upgrade

If you login choosing the classic or unity 2d sessions, do you still have the background problem? I'm thinking you do have an nvidia issue. There have been a ton of posts on nvidia issues. Try a search for you version and see what threads you see. There may be something that will help. I don't have nvidia so I'm no expert on it.
    Jim
    Toshiba Satellite L505-S6946
    Precise, Fedora, Kororaa, Bodhi

Beans
    Distro

I just saw another post that wasn't about the same thing you have but did mention going to the nvidia control panel. Have you looked there to see if anything in it will help?
    Jim

Beans