Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
Results 31 to 40 of 40

Thread: Main menu for Unity?

  1. #31
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Beans
    129

    Re: Main menu for Unity?

    Quote Originally Posted by ariszlo View Post

    That is a point but you can still right-click on the grey Applications button to pop up a list of application categories. See Attachment 2.
    Ok, that was a very cool bit of info - thanks!

    However I STILL am not satisfied because after selecting a category I am left with still having to click to see all results and I don't want to see what other apps are "Available for Download". So it's still 3 clicks to see all my Multimedia apps, as opposed to 2 clicks in 10.10 and down.
    Nothing beats the durability and quality of the Thinkpad put together with the brilliance and stability of Ubuntu Linux!

    Thinkpad T30, T40, T41p, T42, T43, T60, T61, R50, R61, Z61M, X31 ... all love Ubuntu!

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Beans
    9

    Re: Main menu for Unity?

    I am glad to see that I am not the only one completely disliking Unity.

    Don't get me wrong it is nice and shiny BUT.... if i wanted a Mac I would have got a Mac.

  3. #33
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Beans
    129

    Re: Main menu for Unity?

    Quote Originally Posted by -RAX- View Post
    I am glad to see that I am not the only one completely disliking Unity.

    Don't get me wrong it is nice and shiny BUT.... if i wanted a Mac I would have got a Mac.
    Why do you compare it to a Mac?
    Nothing beats the durability and quality of the Thinkpad put together with the brilliance and stability of Ubuntu Linux!

    Thinkpad T30, T40, T41p, T42, T43, T60, T61, R50, R61, Z61M, X31 ... all love Ubuntu!

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    13,189

    Re: Main menu for Unity?

    Quote Originally Posted by Zetheroo View Post
    How did you do that?
    Very simple once you get the idea, though Atm you must do for yourself or find suitable Ex.'s to C&P
    For an example of how to add on to an existing .desktop see here - useful ones to add on are browsers and the nautilus-home.desktop (you can quicklist any place or dir. you wish
    http://askubuntu.com/questions/35024...-icon-in-unity

    As far as menus in launcher - you create a basic .desktop and add whatever you wish, the icon to be used ect. The Exec= of the icon can be left blank or can be used for a l.click, sorta like the default of the group

    I prefer to create these .desktops in ~/.local/share/applications/
    After the .desktop is made then you'd open ~/.local/share/applications and just drag to launcher, log out/in to set

    Here's an Ex. of a utilities menu I'm setting up
    The black is the basic .desktop, the green is where you set the launcher name and icon, the red is the 'action line' so to speak, the blue are added quicklist entries

    The red line determines what shows up in the launcher and the order in which they are displayed

    In this case I'm using some apps w/ their default Exec= lines, in 2 cases (Htop. Update Sources) the Exec= is a script in path (~/bin) and one is a made up replacement for the force-quit applet

    created the empty file to start by
    gedit ~/.local/share/applications/utility.desktop

    Code:
    [Desktop Entry]
    Version=1.0
    Type=Application
    Terminal=false
    Exec=
    Name=Utilities
    Icon=/usr/share/icons/Humanity/categories/48/applications-other.svg
    X-Ayatana-Desktop-Shortcuts=Synaptic;UpdateManager;CompizConfig;Htop;GetUpdates;NautilusActions;GconfEditor;ForceQuit;ScreenShot;SeachFiles
    
    [Synaptic Shortcut Group]
    Name=Synaptic
    Exec=gksu --description /usr/share/applications/synaptic.desktop /usr/sbin/synaptic
    TargetEnvironment=Unity
    
    [UpdateManager Shortcut Group]
    Name=Update Manager
    Exec=/usr/bin/update-manager
    TargetEnvironment=Unity
    
    [Htop Shortcut Group]
    Name=Htop
    Exec=htop1
    TargetEnvironment=Unity
    
    [GetUpdates Shortcut Group]
    Name=Update Sources
    Exec=getupdate1
    TargetEnvironment=Unity
    
    [NautilusActions Shortcut Group]
    Name=Nautilus Actions
    Exec=nautilus-actions-config-tool
    TargetEnvironment=Unity
    
    [CompizConfig Shortcut Group]
    Name=Compiz Settings
    Exec=ccsm
    TargetEnvironment=Unity
    
    [GconfEditor Shortcut Group]
    Name=Gconf Editor
    Exec=gconf-editor
    TargetEnvironment=Unity
    
    [ForceQuit Shortcut Group]
    Name=Force Quit
    Exec=xkill
    TargetEnvironment=Unity
    
    [ScreenShot Shortcut Group]
    Name=Screen Shots
    Exec=gnome-screenshot --interactive
    TargetEnvironment=Unity
    
    [SeachFiles Shortcut Group]
    Name=Search For Files
    Exec=gnome-search-tool
    TargetEnvironment=Unity
    .desktops cannot be r. click opened in a text editor - I use a pair of nautilus-action to open .desktops (one as root, one as user
    Otherwise easiest is to just open a text editor, (or root text editor) and D&D the .desktop you wish to view or edit into

    I would suspect tools to create .desktops, and or edit/add quicklists will arise, especially if the quicklist feature stays in 11.04

    One of the side reasons I create or add on doing this is to stay away from overusing the dash and places which ATM have per use memory leaks that can add up over time
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by mc4man; May 6th, 2011 at 09:31 PM. Reason: green line icon, errant letter in command

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Lunar Base VII- Sector IX
    Beans
    1,771
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: Main menu for Unity?

    mc4man,

    Very nice man!
    Many thanks for the info!
    Thats great.
    Nice job. <3
    5.5 GB's Free Ubuntu-One Cloud Storage~
    Click Here
    _______________________________________________

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    13,189

    Re: Main menu for Unity?

    @ Rasa1111
    It really is easy once you get the idea, and very easy to add on or remove entries

    As another example - the .desktop from the previously posted multimedia icon
    gedit /~.local/share/applications/media.desktop

    Code:
    [Desktop Entry]
    Version=1.0
    Type=Application
    Terminal=false
    Exec=
    Name=MultiMedia
    Icon=/usr/share/icons/Humanity/categories/48/applications-multimedia.svg
    X-Ayatana-Desktop-Shortcuts=Audacious;Totem;GnomeMplayer;MediaInfo;RubyRipperGui;TotemXine;Vlc
    
    [Audacious Shortcut Group]
    Name=Audacious
    Exec=env UBUNTU_MENUPROXY=0 audacious
    TargetEnvironment=Unity
    
    [TotemXine Shortcut Group]
    Name=Totem Xine Media Player
    Exec=env UBUNTU_MENUPROXY=0 /usr/local/bin/totem-xine
    TargetEnvironment=Unity
    
    [RubyRipperGui Shortcut Group]
    Name=RubyRipper Gui
    Exec=rrip_gui
    TargetEnvironment=Unity
    
    [MediaInfo Shortcut Group]
    Name=MediaInfo
    Exec=env UBUNTU_MENUPROXY=0 mediainfo-gui  
    TargetEnvironment=Unity
    
    [GnomeMplayer Shortcut Group]
    Name=Gnome Mplayer
    Exec=/usr/bin/gnome-mplayer
    TargetEnvironment=Unity
    
    [Totem Shortcut Group]
    Name=Totem
    Exec=totem
    TargetEnvironment=Unity
    
    [Vlc Shortcut Group]
    Name=Vlc
    Exec=/usr/bin/vlc
    TargetEnvironment=Unity
    Or to show some possibilities with the nautilus-home.desktop
    You can add specific folders to the quicklists - folders in the home dir. are just pathed after ~, folders otherwise get full path.
    So here also added 2 specfic folders in Documents (1st_quarter and current_jobs
    Just showing you can do pretty much whatever you want

    Edit: small notes on using an existing .desktop
    Look carefully for this line
    OnlyShowIn=GNOME;

    If you see it then either comment out, remove entirely inc. the space or simply edit to this
    OnlyShowIn=GNOME;Unity;

    Also remember any .desktop in /usr/share/applications can be overwritten if app is updated, either keep a copy to paste back or cp to ~/.local/share/applications as shown in link above to begin with
    (for a protected 'global use' location w/ multiple users then /usr/local/share/applications is a decent place (create if need be

    Code:
    [Desktop Entry]
    Name=Home Folder
    Comment=Open your personal folder
    TryExec=nautilus
    Exec=nautilus --no-desktop
    Icon=user-home
    Terminal=false
    StartupNotify=true
    Type=Application
    Categories=GNOME;GTK;Core;
    X-GNOME-Bugzilla-Bugzilla=GNOME
    X-GNOME-Bugzilla-Product=nautilus
    X-GNOME-Bugzilla-Component=general
    X-Ubuntu-Gettext-Domain=nautilus
    X-Ayatana-Desktop-Shortcuts=Music;Videos;Bin;Share;CurrentJobs;FirstQuarter
    
    [Music Shortcut Group]
    Name=Music
    Exec=nautilus --no-desktop Music
    TargetEnvironment=Unity
    
    [Videos Shortcut Group]
    Name=Videos
    Exec=nautilus --no-desktop Videos
    TargetEnvironment=Unity
    
    [Bin Shortcut Group]
    Name=Bin
    Exec=nautilus --no-desktop bin
    TargetEnvironment=Unity
    
    [Share Shortcut Group]
    Name=Share
    Exec=nautilus --no-desktop /usr/share
    TargetEnvironment=Unity
    
    [CurrentJobs Shortcut Group]
    Name=Current Jobs
    Exec=nautilus --no-desktop Documents/current_jobs
    TargetEnvironment=Unity
    
    [FirstQuarter Shortcut Group]
    Name=1st Quarter
    Exec=nautilus --no-desktop Documents/1st_quarter
    TargetEnvironment=Unity
    Last edited by mc4man; May 6th, 2011 at 10:13 PM. Reason: Edit:

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Beans
    24

    Re: Main menu for Unity?

    Quote Originally Posted by SirTrolle View Post
    Exactly!

    All the other stuff is fine, but let us have a simple menu back...!
    How hard can it be?
    Thank you, thank you, thank you.

    I'm fine with the Launcher. I'm fine with Dash. I just want a darn hierarchical menu. How hard is that for the developers to understand!!!

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Beans
    1

    Re: Main menu for Unity?

    Quote Originally Posted by jsavga View Post
    Thank you, thank you, thank you.

    I'm fine with the Launcher. I'm fine with Dash. I just want a darn hierarchical menu. How hard is that for the developers to understand!!!
    Hear, hear!

    I have been using hierarchical menus for many years, all the way back to Windows 2, and before. I don't want a 'tablet' style interface. I don't like them and I don't understand them. In some ways, I am considered a dinosaur by the local tech community and I don't mind at all. I see no value in discarding what is proven and effective, just because it doesn't have any 'bling' in its appearance.

    If the developers don't want to provide that, how are they different from Apple? Forcing me into a change I didn't ask for and don't want is not an intelligent decision IMHO, and this thread, among others, proves that quite effectively.

    At Apple, Steve Jobs decided what the interface would look like and how it would work, and the users had no voice whatsoever. I don't think Canonical wants to develop the same reputation. At least, I sincerely hope not!

    Just provide me with a classic interface option, however you want it to work in the code, and I'll be happy. Until then, I'm sticking with Lucid Lynx. Who knows? If the developers can provide a hot key switch to change the interface without logging out, then I can play with the new interface and it's entirely possible that I'll change.

    [Off topic, somewhat]:

    In fact, if Debian would just provide an option to install actual Mozilla instead of, or in addition to, their rebranded versions, I would just switch back, I think. That, and some of the difficulties I've had with hardware detection and configuration, are my major disagreements with them, and I am not interested in learning how to build my own debs so that I can install my preferred software. The public posturing that the Debian leadership is indulging itself in is annoying, and more than a little ridiculous.

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Denmark
    Beans
    7

    Re: Main menu for Unity?

    Chuckp, are you familiar with the new Cinnamon desktop environent?
    It has a nice menu!

    It's created by the Linux Mint developers, and is supported by multiple distributions. It's even Gnome 3 based.

    http://cinnamon.linuxmint.com

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Vilnius
    Beans
    30
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Main menu for Unity?

    Today I wanted to make an applet to automatically start. It turns out the only way to do this is to type "Startup Applications" in the Dash or to manually create a script. "Startup Applications" does not appear in the "System settings" folder where I would naturally search for it. The language of my Unity is not English, which means that I have to guess the correct translation for "Startup Applications"! Completely ridiculous...
    This would be so easy to change, this was already implemented in older version, does Canonical want to deliberately kill a nice OS?..

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •