Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 40

Thread: Main menu for Unity?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Kansas City, KS
    Beans
    1,273
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: Hmmm

    Honestly, I didn't think I'd get to like search-based launching with a recent list, but I love the hell out of it. I'm using Synapse and never want to go back to organizing my Main Menu again. Might need to change my sig, even. = D
    ~ I know I shouldn't use tildes for decoration, but they always make me feel at home. ~

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Bay Area, Ca
    Beans
    41
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Main menu for Unity?

    yah the stupid (spoken purely out of frustration) search doesn't work altogether awesomely. For example, I like the game Armagetron but forgot what it was called so I search for "tron" got nothing... Still not ready to say bag the whole thing just yet though... As long as they don't get rid of that numlockx thingy... That would just hack me off!

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Denmark
    Beans
    7

    Re: Main menu for Unity?

    Hehe, I do not want to buy an Apple product
    They make some cool products, but I do not like the idea of Steve Jobs deciding what I can and cannot do.

    I gave Unity a test run for a few days, and decided against it.
    Then I downloaded the OpenSuse Gnome3 cd, and I slowly began to like the new Gnome Shell more and more.
    It has an overview of the installed programs, kinda like a menu.
    It even feels like a finished product, where Unity showed some flaws on my setup.

    Next step is to install Natty, and try to install Gnome 3 on it.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Beans
    68
    Distro
    Lubuntu

    Re: Main menu for Unity?

    Could someone explain how,

    1, click + Applications
    2, click "search"
    3, type in name (or part thereof)
    4, Find what you want in the results and click

    is a step forward over,

    1, click the terminal icon
    2 type in name and 'enter'

    or

    1, click "Applications"
    2, 'mouse over' until you have what you want
    3, click

    And as far as the "Application Area" (whatever it is called) where everything is displayed and you have to search through ALL of the programs, that belongs on tablets where there are no other options.

    I have a 6 core 2.8gig machine with 4gig ddr3 1600 ram and a 22" wide screen, why should I use it like my 10" tablet, I am not threatening to go to another distro and I am trying to configure Unity so that I can "just use it" but XFCE is starting to look better and better.
    Meanwhile I am sticking with 10.10 for my main OS
    Cheers David
    Last edited by pommie; May 2nd, 2011 at 08:08 AM.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Denmark
    Beans
    7

    Re: Main menu for Unity?

    Exactly!

    All the other stuff is fine, but let us have a simple menu back...!
    How hard can it be?

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Beans
    94

    Re: Main menu for Unity?

    Could someone explain how,

    1, click + Applications
    2, click "search"
    3, type in name (or part thereof)
    4, Find what you want in the results and click

    is a step forward over,

    1, click the terminal icon
    2 type in name and 'enter'
    Sort of like upgrading to bash - only with a GUI
    It would take a few pages to list the various parts of Unity that I found irritating during the 2 weeks I used it . I upgraded to 10.04 LTS .
    I will see if the Ubuntu Devs listen to the many issues that people are having and do something about it or if they just say this is how it is try another DE ( as many fanboys on this forum have done ) .
    Last edited by pony-tail; May 2nd, 2011 at 09:32 AM. Reason: error in data
    Ubuntu forum members said "If I am unhappy with Unity there are many other options " True - I changed to another Distro - problem solved !
    I found I need neither Unity nor Ubuntu !

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Beans
    9

    Re: Main menu for Unity?

    Click on the grey magnifying glass icon on the launcher and there you are.
    Last edited by ariszlo; May 2nd, 2011 at 11:21 AM. Reason: used wrong term for launcher

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Beans
    68
    Distro
    Lubuntu

    Re: Main menu for Unity?

    Quote Originally Posted by ariszlo View Post
    Click on the grey magnifying glass icon on the Dash and there you are.
    Ah I missed the part where the os knows what program I want, oh you mean you have the search entry box open, that only means its three steps instead of the four I stated

    Besides why should I have to use the keyboard on a graphical interface of the future, or are we headed back to the days of Windows 3.1. (remember, DOS with windows)

    Personally I think that they are making the desktop OS's look and act like the tablets so that they all work alike.

    Punch (on his desktop) "Hey Jude, how do I start up xxxx"

    Judy "Hang on I'll fire up my phone and look"

    Cheers David

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Beans
    9

    Re: Main menu for Unity?

    Quote Originally Posted by pommie View Post
    Besides why should I have to use the keyboard on a graphical interface of the future, or are we headed back to the days of Windows 3.1. (remember, DOS with windows)
    Where do you have to use the keyboard here?
    Attached Images Attached Images

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Whittier, CA
    Beans
    50
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Main menu for Unity?

    Unity = binary turd

    IMHO


Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •