Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 40

Thread: Main menu for Unity?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Denmark
    Beans
    7

    Question Main menu for Unity?

    Is it possible to add a "main menu" like entry on the launcher, or the top bar?

    I am really missing the possibility to see what programs are on my machine, and not have to search for them.
    I can't always remember these funky Linux program names.
    (Getting old...)

    I guess that something like the Gnomenu would be fine too.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Beans
    128

    Re: Main menu for Unity?

    The simple, and unfortunate, answer is no. It is indeed a shame that the menu is not a bit more user-friendly than it is and the utter lack of being able to customize it.
    Nothing beats the durability and quality of the Thinkpad put together with the brilliance and stability of Ubuntu Linux!

    Thinkpad T30, T40, T41p, T42, T43, T60, T61, R50, R61, Z61M, X31 ... all love Ubuntu!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Here
    Beans
    9,689

    Re: Main menu for Unity?

    Quote Originally Posted by SirTrolle View Post
    Is it possible to add a "main menu" like entry on the launcher, or the top bar?

    I am really missing the possibility to see what programs are on my machine, and not have to search for them.
    I can't always remember these funky Linux program names.
    (Getting old...)

    I guess that something like the Gnomenu would be fine too.
    you don't have to remember the name, just use generic name like "editor", "web", "sound", "monitor", etc...
    chances are you won't even have to type out the whole word.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Beans
    13

    Re: Main menu for Unity?

    When I saw unity for the first time I had this problem but after working and more working I found my way to access to programs, any way I think unity is growing up and we will have a professional desktop in the future. For now we have a young unity

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    PA. u.s.a.
    Beans
    829
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Main menu for Unity?

    selecting "classic" at the bottom of the screen on logon yields a pretty familiar screen. Right click the top bar and add to panel "menu bar". I switch between Unity and Classic depending on my mood. I use classic if I need to get something done and don't want to futz with Unity.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Denmark
    Beans
    7

    Hmmm



    Perhaps I should try out KDE then.
    Sounds like the classic mode will disappear in the next version.

    Just installed a new utility using the terminal, and cannot find it...
    Even took me a while to find the terminal, since I was looking for a console, and the only result presented by Unity, was to install the program Konsole...

    I was looking forward to getting this new version, as I allways am, but this is getting ridiculous.

    If I ever feel like having no options, I think I will by me an Apple product.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    40

    Re: Main menu for Unity?

    I just want to point out that you can do a sudo apt-get install xfce4 or something similar and have the option of using that instead.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Beans
    748
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Main menu for Unity?

    This was a big problem for me too.
    I ended up creating my own menus using zenity in scripts.

    Here is my thread on the subject:

    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1706383
    Moderation in all things; including moderation.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Valencia (Spain)
    Beans
    855
    Distro
    Xubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Main menu for Unity?

    Quote Originally Posted by SirTrolle View Post


    Perhaps I should try out KDE then.
    Sounds like the classic mode will disappear in the next version.

    Just installed a new utility using the terminal, and cannot find it...
    Even took me a while to find the terminal, since I was looking for a console, and the only result presented by Unity, was to install the program Konsole...

    I was looking forward to getting this new version, as I allways am, but this is getting ridiculous.

    If I ever feel like having no options, I think I will by me an Apple product.
    One word before you go to Apple, please try KDE, it is great, forget everything you heard about it before.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Beans
    128

    Re: Hmmm

    Quote Originally Posted by SirTrolle View Post


    If I ever feel like having no options, I think I will by me an Apple product.
    I think that about sums up the story for me too. Though in reality I would never go for Apple ... it still makes sense to say that!
    Nothing beats the durability and quality of the Thinkpad put together with the brilliance and stability of Ubuntu Linux!

    Thinkpad T30, T40, T41p, T42, T43, T60, T61, R50, R61, Z61M, X31 ... all love Ubuntu!

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •