Thread: Samsung 9 series fresh install

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

Samsung 9 series fresh install

I have a Samsung NP900X3A. Fresh install running into some issues. First wireless was not working and the Broadcom driver I needed was labeled as blacklisted. Since then it has been successfully installed, just took a few restarts while trying to get other hardware to function properly.

Currently I need help with the Intel drivers. They are not enabled by default it seems, and I am not finding a way to enable it. Secondly the touch-pad is multi-touch capable, I need to find out what I need to do to get drivers for it as I have never worked with a multi-touch pad before. The Samsung also has a webcam, I may be able to get this working on my own, but as I normally don't use a webcam, in the past I have skipped even trying. Any tips that may make that setup painless too appreciated.

~Thanks

New stuff:

Upgraded the kernel to 2.6.35.25 which enabled me to have a better resolution but still did not enable the Intel drivers. Also broke the Broadcom driver and I am now without wireless.
    Last edited by LordVeovis; April 26th, 2011 at 05:02 PM.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Re: Samsung 9 series fresh install

Intel drivers are built directly into the Linux kernel as kernel modules. They shouldn't need "enabling". What piece of hardware are you having trouble with? Is it sound?

System -> Preferences -> Mouse Preferences. In this GUI window you should see a tab called "Touchpad." In there you can enable and disable various things, including edge scrolling (which hilariously my Windows doesn't allow being enabled) and two finger scrolling. There may be other options for you (I'm in Lucid, not Maverick).