Thread: Installing Brother MFC 9120

Beans

Smile Installing Brother MFC 9120

I recently purchased a brother MFC 9120 and do not know how to install the scanner driver and make it work when connected to the network. I was able to install the printer driver very easy though. I am a beginner. How do I install it over the network? brother website does offer a linux driver. But do not know how to install it and scan over network.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 18.10 Cosmic Cuttlefish

Re: Installing Brother MFC 9120

Quote Originally Posted by carloscmt View Post
    I recently purchased a brother MFC 9120 and do not know how to install the scanner driver and make it work when connected to the network. I was able to install the printer driver very easy though. I am a beginner. How do I install it over the network? brother website does offer a linux driver. But do not know how to install it and scan over network.

I have the same problem.

Here is what I know:

* Download the Angry IP scanner from its website and install it.

* Open the Angry IP scanner program and scan youir local network from 192.168.1.1 -m 192.168.1.254. You should now be able to determine the IP address of your network 9120 printer/scanner.

* Using Firefox, type in your Brother 9120's IP address.

* Here you will be prompted for a password. Brother's defaults are user:admin, pass:access.

* When you are logged in, there is a "Administration" link. Here you can find the network settings.

I am currently trying to figure out how to configure my network to accomodate the new settings. Once I find out, I'll post my results.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Quote Originally Posted by carloscmt View Post
    Hello

Look at this page on Brother's website : http://welcome.solutions.brother.com...ion_scn1b.html

Beans
    Distro

The tutorial from brother did not work. Not sure what I did wrong. the brconfig3 file did not contain data. Not sure where I went wrong

Beans
    Distro