Thread: Running my dual booted 7 as virtualmachine

Beans

Running my dual booted 7 as virtualmachine

Hi, i'm relatively new to Linux, i have been using it on my work laptop for a few months now and want to move it over to my desktop.

However, my desktop has windows 7 with alot on it, tons of stuff installed over years and i really dont want to have to reinstall everything.

I'm wondering if i can boot up my current windows 7 thats already installed as a virtual machine.

Sorry if its hard to understand what im asking, im kind of a newb to things like this.

Thanks!

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio 11.04 Natty Narwhal

Re: Running my dual booted 7 as virtualmachine

Of what I understand no there is not a way that you can take your windows 7 OS and make it into a virtual machine that you can run inside of Ubuntu (or any Linux distro for that matter)

Though, not to be rude or too personal but why would you need windows 7 anymore. But as you said you are new to this and I'll be blunt (even with Ubuntu being one of the easier distros to understand and use) there is a learning curve when coming from a PC (or a Mac). BUT once you understand how Linux works, even if just a little bit, you will understand that anything that you can do in windows you can do in Linux.

I hope I answered your question.

Beans

i'd be very doubtful.

essentially, you will be asking a windows 7 installation to continue to function when every peace of hardware has been changed from under it all at once.

i don't even think windows generally functions if you move the hard drive to a new machine, and this would be adding an additional layer of complexity on top of that.
    Semper Fi

My Non-Ubuntu Blog.
    All posts by me are Public Domain.

Beans

Yeah, i know but my family uses the computer as well occasionally and they would not appreciate it if i got rid of all their stuff, among other small reasons that stack up.

Thanks for the reply though, i think for now ill just stick with 7