Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Can't mount cryptswap

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Beans
    81
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Can't mount cryptswap

    I will confess that I don't fully recall what I did when I set this all up, but I was given an option to encrypt my home directory, and I took it.

    Lately, I've started seeing an occasional error on boot: my machine complains that it can't boot /dev/mapper/cryptswap1.

    For a while it would just hang, but after a recent update I noticed it offering me the option to hit esc and drop into a shell to resolve the problem. Actually hitting esc, though, just lets me proceed to the login screen.

    The whole thing is (not surprisingly) kind of nervewracking because I don't know what the problem is.

    I'm on Karmic.

    Here's my fstab:

    [0 amanda@luna ~]$ cat /etc/fstab
    # /etc/fstab: static file system information.
    #
    # Use 'blkid -o value -s UUID' to print the universally unique identifier
    # for a device; this may be used with UUID= as a more robust way to name
    # devices that works even if disks are added and removed. See fstab(5).
    #
    # <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
    proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
    # / was on /dev/sda5 during installation
    UUID=a937a8a8-6320-4f3e-9636-b2a92403065f / ext4 errors=remount-ro 0 1
    # swap was on /dev/sda6 during installation
    #UUID=73bc0726-ed56-43ca-9827-06ad56f4d98e none swap sw 0 0
    /dev/scd0 /media/cdrom0 udf,iso9660 user,noauto,exec,utf8 0 0
    /dev/mapper/cryptswap1 none swap sw 0 0

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Beans
    81
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Can't mount cryptswap

    One source of frustration in all this is that I can't find anything in my error logs that might be a record of the problem.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Beans
    1

    Re: Can't mount cryptswap

    Amanda, I have the same problem (xubuntu 9.10) and from what the screen showed me and my intuition told me, I figured out that Xubuntu is trying to mount the encrypted partition BEFORE it is created. (question to me, remains why )
    While your xubuntu is running (with no swap I suspect), open terminal and type
    Code:
    sudo swapon /dev/mapper/cryptswap1
    This mounted SWAP for me. (I saw it by those practical "System Load Monitor" bars I have enabled up on the panel )

    Now I still have to reboot and see if Xubuntu remembers what I just told it I want.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Beans
    16

    Re: Can't mount cryptswap

    sudo swapon /dev/mapper/cryptswap1

    This delayed the crash when i tried to vim fstab by three cursor movements instead of 1.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Beans
    16

    Re: Can't mount cryptswap

    I added

    swapoff -a

    swapon -a

    to the rc.local and i dont have the problem anymore.

    I cant remember who's post helped but thanks anyway.

    Russ.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Slovenia-Črnomelj
    Beans
    3
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Can't mount cryptswap

    In my case i moved the swap partition to a new location and i had to make it crypted again and all my data changed.
    From cryptswap1 to cryptedswap so check your /dev/mapper if the cryptswap exists.
    Also here is a good how to make it crypted again http://emidio.planamente.ch/docs/lin...m-crypt-3.html

    hope it helps

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Beans
    14,709
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Can't mount cryptswap

    Thanks for sharing, please do not post in threads that have not had activity for a year or longer, since this is an old thread it has been closed.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •