Thread: restore windows xp boot load on netbook (no boot disk)

Beans

Cool restore windows xp boot load on netbook (no boot disk)

I've found a lot of similar problems solved by using a win xp boot disk, but unfortunately since I'm using an Asus EeePC 1005HA that came loaded with xp and no cd drive, that's not an option for me (nor do I possess a disk). There should still be an xp recovery partition on my hdd, but I'm not sure I can boot into it.

Here's the run-down. I'm a beginner when it comes to linux/ubuntu, but a few times a year I'll get excited about trying a new distro or tweaking what I've got and I'll do a bunch of reading and messing around with booting different os's on my netbook. I've always kept XP safe as my primary os and used that for school and work, and dual booted different flavors of linux.

Yesterday, I thought I'd try out Joli OS, and wanted to wipe my old ubuntu install that I didn't really use any more. Without thinking too much of it, I went ahead with gparted and deleted my ubuntu partitions and merged them with my xp partition, after which I was going to go ahead with starting from scratch again. I realized pretty quickly that I should have thought that through a bit more clearly, as I rebooted and got this:

error: no such partition.
    grub rescue>

I know that this is the logical outcome of me completely removing the partitions that GRUB is supposed to be looking for, but I don't know if there is a way around it. I'm going to try setting up a usb stick with ubuntu and booting from that to see if I can get a little control back and maybe eliminate GRUB completely and restore the boot loader for XP. However, I'm not really sure how I should be going about this and am looking for a little direction.

Apologies if I missed the thread that answers this elsewhere, but I did try to do my homework beforehand. Thanks for any and all help!

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release