Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: no surround on ALC887-VD2 (asus e35m1 pro)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Beans
    3

    no surround on ALC887-VD2 (asus e35m1 pro)

    Hi,

    I'm trying to set up at least 5.1 sound in my fresh ubuntu 10.10. I have stereo sound but failed when trying to set up the rest. I've googled it, read through couple of pages and tried the following:
    - I've installed alsa 1.0.24
    - I've added the following lines to /etc/pulse/daemon.conf
    Code:
    default-sample-channels = 6
    default-channel-map = front-left,front-right,rear-left,rear-right,center,lfe
    - I've added
    Code:
    options snd-hda-intel model=3stack-digout
    to /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf

    There is no 'Profile' button/menu in Sounds preferences/Hardware.


    Code:
    $speaker-test -Dplug:surround51 -c6
    
    speaker-test 1.0.24.2
    
    Playback device is plug:surround51
    Stream parameters are 48000Hz, S16_LE, 6 channels
    Using 16 octaves of pink noise
    Playback open error: -2,Nincs ilyen fájl vagy könyvtár
    This means 'No such file or directory'

    Code:
    $aplay -l
    **** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
    card 0: Generic [HD-Audio Generic], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
      Subdevices: 1/1
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 1: SB [HDA ATI SB], device 0: ALC887-VD Analog [ALC887-VD Analog]
      Subdevices: 0/1
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 1: SB [HDA ATI SB], device 1: ALC887-VD Digital [ALC887-VD Digital]
      Subdevices: 1/1
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    Code:
    $cat /proc/asound/card1/codec#* | grep Codec
    Codec: Realtek ALC887-VD
    Do you have any suggestion I should try?

    thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Beans
    6,904
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: no surround on ALC887-VD2 (asus e35m1 pro)

    Use the alsa-info-script to provide detailed information.
    Run this command in a terminal:
    Code:
    wget http://www.alsa-project.org/alsa-info.sh -O alsa-info.sh && bash alsa-info.sh
    Choose the upload option and provide a link for the output.
    [Terminal="Applications->Accessories->Terminal"]

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Beans
    3

    Re: no surround on ALC887-VD2 (asus e35m1 pro)


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Beans
    8

    Re: no surround on ALC887-VD2 (asus e35m1 pro)

    For what it's worth, I have the ASUS E-35M1-I Deluxe. I was struggling with sound after a minimal Ubuntu install, even though it worked with a full desktop install.

    I got it all resolved by installing pulseaudio, launching it in daemon mode (edit /etc/defaults/pulseaudio and /etc/pulse/daemon.conf), and adding myself to the pulse and pulse-access groups.

    I have no idea what PulseAudio is doing to fix the ALSA config, but it all seems to work well.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Beans
    6,904
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: no surround on ALC887-VD2 (asus e35m1 pro)

    That option in alsa-base.conf is not working for you so remove it. Alsa is seeing your hdmi as default. What outputs are you wanting to use for audio?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Beans
    3

    Re: no surround on ALC887-VD2 (asus e35m1 pro)

    lidex: I have 3 jacks in the rear panel (mic, line out, line in) and 2 jacks in the front (line out, mic). In the manual it says that it's possible to configure the rear panel as: rear speaker out for line in, and bass/center for the mic.
    My original thoughts was to have the possibility of changing between this 2 setup. Most of the cases I need the 5.1 output. When I need to record from tv I need to switch the line-in back to line-in. The reason is that I have a pixelview playtv tuner card. It has a line-out which needed to be connected to the line in to get the sound of the tv.
    However I saw the '06:00.1 Multimedia controller: Brooktree Corporation Bt878 Audio Capture (rev 11)' which made me think that it is may not be necessary (not sure how to set it up though.

    naasking: I've added myself to the groups you recommended, will let you know if it worked after the restart.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Beans
    6,904
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: no surround on ALC887-VD2 (asus e35m1 pro)

    Quote Originally Posted by Lotof View Post
    lidex: I have 3 jacks in the rear panel (mic, line out, line in) and 2 jacks in the front (line out, mic). In the manual it says that it's possible to configure the rear panel as: rear speaker out for line in, and bass/center for the mic.
    My original thoughts was to have the possibility of changing between this 2 setup. Most of the cases I need the 5.1 output. When I need to record from tv I need to switch the line-in back to line-in. The reason is that I have a pixelview playtv tuner card. It has a line-out which needed to be connected to the line in to get the sound of the tv.
    However I saw the '06:00.1 Multimedia controller: Brooktree Corporation Bt878 Audio Capture (rev 11)' which made me think that it is may not be necessary (not sure how to set it up though.

    naasking: I've added myself to the groups you recommended, will let you know if it worked after the restart.
    Have a look here:
    http://www.sabi.co.uk/Notes/linuxSoundALSA.html

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Kollam, Kerala, India
    Beans
    1
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: no surround on ALC887-VD2 (asus e35m1 pro)


  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Beans
    6,904
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: no surround on ALC887-VD2 (asus e35m1 pro)

    Follow the link in my sig for the alsa-upgrade script. Once you have the latest version check aplay to make sure you have more than one device:
    Code:
    aplay -l
    EDIT: Actually you have a different hardware set. I'm assuming you have the asus e35m1 pro as per
    the thread subject, but apparently not. What is your make/model and what is the problem?
    Last edited by lidex; August 28th, 2011 at 11:17 PM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    D-Ratingen
    Beans
    13
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: no surround on ALC887-VD2 (asus e35m1 pro)

    Hello, could you help me. I could not get surroundsound running. It is an Asus A5ION board with ALC887 chip onboard. It has 3 jacks on back that should offer 5.1 sound according to the manual of the board and 2 jacks on front panel. Speaker-test -D surround51 -c 6 gives me sound on LF,Center,RF and very low volume sound on RR,RL with some mubel from the sub, sub test mubles sub. In alsamixer LFA Mixer affects nothing and surround mixer affect backspeakers and sub. Here comes my alsatest result:

    http://www.alsa-project.org/db/?f=21...4ab43f6e583ca5

    There is an entry in alsa-base.conf

    options snd-hda-intel model=auto

    Any ideas are welcome..

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •