Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: how to boot in to linux command prompt

Beans

how to boot in to linux command prompt

Sorry if a am in the wrong category here. I am a computer science student, and so sometimes I would like really quick access to a command line.

First off I was wondering if there was a way I could make a option in grub that will boot Ubuntu without any x11 stuff. Kinda like the System rescue option, but without the menu, and not start as root.

Second... I would say that I want a session that lets me start without x11, but for my purposes that is easy enough to do with ctrl+alt+number from the GDM. Instead, I would like a fast loading window manager that is good for programming. Really any interesting desktop environment (or window manager)suggestion that I am unfamiliar with would be investigated.(I am highly interested in wm/de, and have explored many.)

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

Re: how to boot in to linux command prompt

Sorry if a am in the wrong category here. I am a computer science student, and so sometimes I would like really quick access to a command line.
    Ctrl + alt + T

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

i would also like to know this

to rephrase what he said we want a option in grub that would boot our systems like the server version boots normally

like a dual boot with ubuntu desktop and ubuntu server but with only one install
    Laptop: ASUS A54C-NB91 (Storage: WD3200BEKT + MKNSSDCR60GB-DX); Desktop: Custom Build - Images included; rPi Server
    Putting your Networked Printer's scanner software to shame PHP Scanner Server
    I frequently edit my post when I have the last post

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

Quote Originally Posted by acklavidian View Post

First off I was wondering if there was a way I could make a option in grub that will boot Ubuntu without any x11 stuff. Kinda like the System rescue option, but without the menu, and not start as root.