Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Acer Aspire Revo R3700 wireless - DHCPDISCOVER no working leases.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Ice cold Norway
    Beans
    517

    Acer Aspire Revo R3700 wireless - DHCPDISCOVER no working leases.

    Hi, so I got myself the Revo R3700 and installed XBMC Live which is basically Ubuntu 10.04 that boots straight into XBMC. And as always I can't get wireless to work on Linux. I'm no expert here.

    I followed this thread including post #6 and I can now see my network with iwlist scan but I can't connect to it. I've tried mucking about with wpa_supplicant.conf also.

    iwconfig shows the following for wlan0:
    Code:
    RT2860 Wireless  ESSID: "" Nickname: "RT2860STA"
    Mode: Auto  Frequency=2.412 GHz  Access Point: Not-Associated
    Bit Rate:1 Mb/s
    RTS thr:off  Fragment thr:off
    Link Quality=10/100  Signal level:0 dBm Noise level:-115 dBm
    I can see my network with iwlist scan as:
    Code:
    ESSID:"SuperNetwork"
    Mode:Managed
    Channel:11
    Quality:37/100  Signal level:-75 dBm  Noise level:-115 dBm
    Encryption key:on
    Bit Rates:54 Mb/s
    IE: WPA Version 1
        Group Cipher: TKIP
        Pairwise Ciphers (2): CCMP TKIP
        Authentication Suites (1): PSK
    My /etc/network/interfaces is at the moment:
    Code:
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
    auto wlan0
    iface wlan0 inet dhcp
    wpa-ssid SuperNetwork
    wpa-ap-scan 0
    wpa-proto WPA
    wpa-pairwise CCMP TKIP
    wpa-group TKIP
    wpa-key-mgmt WPA-PSK
    wpa-psk X
    Where X is the secret password doing this:
    Code:
    wpa_passphrase <yourAPssid> <yourpassphrase>
    Trying to connect I get rows of:
    Code:
    DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval ...
    ...
    No DHCPOFFERS received.
    No working leases in persistent database - sleeping.
    So what should I do? Any help would be greatly appreciated!
    Last edited by graabein; March 14th, 2011 at 09:57 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    21,119
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn

    Re: Acer Aspire Revo R3700 wireless - DHCPDISCOVER no working leases.

    That's a very busy interfaces file! Try this:
    Code:
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
    
    auto wlan0
    iface wlan0 inet dhcp
    wpa-ssid SuperNetwork
    #wpa-ap-scan 0
    #wpa-proto WPA
    #wpa-pairwise CCMP TKIP
    #wpa-group TKIP
    #wpa-key-mgmt WPA-PSK
    wpa-psk <yourpassphrase>
    <yourpassphrase> in clear text; not put through the encryption device wpa_passphrase.

    I notice the signal strength is low; are you close to the router?

    Next, do:
    Code:
    sudo ifdown wlan0 && sudo ifup wlan0
    Does it get a DHCP lease or time out?
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, Ph.D.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Ice cold Norway
    Beans
    517

    Re: Acer Aspire Revo R3700 wireless - DHCPDISCOVER no working leases.

    Hi, thanks for answering. Didn't get home until now.

    The signal strength is weak, yes, but I'm in the room next to the router. I did the changes to /etc/network/interfaces and restarted the network. Still getting the same result. No working leases.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    21,119
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn

    Re: Acer Aspire Revo R3700 wireless - DHCPDISCOVER no working leases.

    Let's sneak things in one at a time and see if we get any improvement. Before we start, take a look at:
    Code:
    sudo ifdown wlan0 && sudo ifup wlan0
    sudo tail -n25 /var/log/syslog
    See if you can see any messages about failure to connect. You can copy from the terminal to a text document and transfer the text on a USB key and post it here. For reference, here is a successful connection:
    Mar 15 17:27:55 LAPTOP60 avahi-daemon[1396]: Joining mDNS multicast group on interface wlan0.IPv4 with address 192.168.1.108.
    Mar 15 17:27:55 LAPTOP60 avahi-daemon[1396]: New relevant interface wlan0.IPv4 for mDNS.
    Mar 15 17:27:55 LAPTOP60 avahi-daemon[1396]: Registering new address record for 192.168.1.108 on wlan0.IPv4.
    Mar 15 17:27:55 LAPTOP60 kernel: [118263.121799] ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlan0: link is not ready
    Mar 15 17:27:58 LAPTOP60 wpa_supplicant[1646]: Trying to associate with 00:24:56:2a:xx:xx (SSID='GBR1' freq=2462 MHz)
    Mar 15 17:27:58 LAPTOP60 kernel: [118265.797126] wlan0: authenticate with 00:24:56:2a:xx:xx (try 1)
    Mar 15 17:27:58 LAPTOP60 kernel: [118265.798945] wlan0: authenticated
    Mar 15 17:27:58 LAPTOP60 kernel: [118265.798997] wlan0: associate with 00:24:56:2a:xx:xx (try 1)
    Mar 15 17:27:58 LAPTOP60 kernel: [118265.800885] wlan0: RX AssocResp from 00:24:56:2a:xx:xx (capab=0x431 status=0 aid=2)
    Mar 15 17:27:58 LAPTOP60 kernel: [118265.800892] wlan0: associated
    My interfaces file, aside from being set to static IP addresses, is identical to what I suggested.

    Next, take away the # in front of wpa-ap-scan 0 and try again:
    Code:
    sudo ifdown wlan0 && sudo ifup wlan0
    sudo tail -n25 /var/log/syslog
    Any improvement?
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, Ph.D.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Ice cold Norway
    Beans
    517

    Re: Acer Aspire Revo R3700 wireless - DHCPDISCOVER no working leases.

    Hi, I took snapshots of the screen.

    Before. After.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    21,119
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn

    Re: Acer Aspire Revo R3700 wireless - DHCPDISCOVER no working leases.

    It looks improved. Now remove the # in front of wpa-pairwise CCMP TKIP. Can you connect now?

    I'm still very concerned about signal strength.
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, Ph.D.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Ice cold Norway
    Beans
    517

    Re: Acer Aspire Revo R3700 wireless - DHCPDISCOVER no working leases.

    Hi, I will try this when I get home in about 4-5 hours.

    Do you have any suggestions to what I can do about signal strength? My main box also has a weak signal. It dual boots Vista and Ubuntu 10.10 and connects with a wireless dongle. Can I get a better router or some equipment to my router?

    Another thing is I want to use a static IP for the Revo. I figure I will connect to it from other computers on the LAN running both Windows and GNU/Linux so static IP is probably the best, no?

    Then maybe I can bypass the DHPC problem all together?

    Thanks for your help btw, it's much appreciated

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    21,119
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn

    Re: Acer Aspire Revo R3700 wireless - DHCPDISCOVER no working leases.

    Here is a post reflecting thoughts about low strength: http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php...52&postcount=7
    Another thing is I want to use a static IP for the Revo. I figure I will connect to it from other computers on the LAN running both Windows and GNU/Linux so static IP is probably the best, no?
    Actually, some of the Windows-compatibility tools, winbind, samba and others, don't depend on static IP addresses. I don't have much experience with all this; I have no Windows or Mac machines on my network. There are many threads on this forum about file and printer sharing from Linux to Windows.
    Then maybe I can bypass the DHPC problem all together?
    Probably not true. If your router and your Ubuntu machine agree about all of the encryption details, it will connect either way, static or DHCP; if not, it won't connect either way.
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, Ph.D.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Ice cold Norway
    Beans
    517

    Re: Acer Aspire Revo R3700 wireless - DHCPDISCOVER no working leases.

    I've moved my router a bit and signal strength is now at about 75% on my main box and 60% on the Revo. Hope that's good enough?

    I wanna try NFS on the Revo and mount its external USB drive directly on my main box. I will use FTP for the windows machines (maybe do some backup and get some music for portable music players) and SSH for maintenance from the main box.

    But first I have to get it online. I added wpa-pairwise CCMP TKIP to /etc/network/interfaces, down/up and tail syslog. Image proof here.

    Maybe disable avahi daemon? The Revo boots directly into xbmc. I don't know on which user. But any daemons and configuration in /etc/network/interfaces is used anyhow, right?
    Last edited by graabein; March 17th, 2011 at 08:46 PM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    21,119
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn

    Re: Acer Aspire Revo R3700 wireless - DHCPDISCOVER no working leases.

    I'm trying to understand XMBC better. I'm downloading the live CD now. In the meantime, are you sure that Network Manager is not installed, not running and not even in the same city with you? NM will resist manual methods and make connection with /etc/network/interfaces almost impossible.

    What does this tell us?
    Code:
    ps aux | grep -i network
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, Ph.D.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •