Thread: Wifi won't maintain connection. Needs SIS drivers?

Beans

Wifi won't maintain connection. Needs SIS drivers?

I'm a Linux/Ubuntu newbie so apologise if I need walking through this in baby steps!

A while ago I bought a laptop without an OS, installed Ubuntu without any problems and loved it. Unfortunately, since day one it hasn't maintained its wifi connection for long.

Assuming this was part of an issue that's supposed to have plagued Ubuntu 10.04 onwards, I changed OS. So far I've tried Peppermint, Easy Peasy, Leenux and am now on Jolicloud - but the problem hasn't been solved. (Jolicloud may seem an odd choice, but a system designed for internet use seemed a reasonable place to expect an internet fix. Yes, that's how naive I am.)

After more research, it seems that the problem may be with the netork adapter, a Realtek TRL8187B wireless 802.11b /g 54Mbps USB2.0 as it doesn't have the right drivers. (The source of this info is here - page 2, post #59 and page 3, post #70, particularly.) Incidentally, I found that every Linux OS I've tried has worked perfectly, apart from this glitch.

Ubuntu forums suggest not installing drivers direct from Realtek (not that I'd know how to do it anyway) so I'm not sure what the fix is. I seem to be going in circles through the forums and am even more confused as Jolicloud doesn't use quite the same format as Ubuntu so any instructions about going into Admin/Hardware Drivers etc., don't 'fit'.

Sorry if I've gone on too much. I hope you can help - I really DON'T want to install Windows just to get online but must admit I'm feeling out of my depth!

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Re: Wifi won't maintain connection. Needs SIS drivers?

Can you post the output of
    Code:
    lspci
    or
    Code:
    lsusb
    if it is a usb device.

You might need to install the windows driver using ndisgtk. the above commands will tell us which driver that is.