Thread: Transparent Proxy + Dans Guardian

Beans

Transparent Proxy + Dans Guardian

Hi all,

I was wondering if the following scenario was even possible. If it is and you have information about it, I would appreciate you passing it on to me.

As an fyi, I am not a very savvy linux user. I am also not a developer, I do not know any programming at all, which seems to make using linux more difficult.

I want to have a content filter that is completely transparent based on ubuntu (I am more comfortable with ubuntu). I assume I will need some sort of transparent proxy/bridge type setup. I have read about squid, but it sounds like TinyProxy would suit me better if it is capable of doing what I want since it is much lighter weight (we are talking 10-15 lan users max). I want to place a VM between my firewall and my network. I want this VM to pass all traffic through an AV like Clam AV or equivalent and dans guardian content filter, as it seems to be the best one out there. I don't want it to be possible to get around this CF either, such as bypassing the CF. I run a packet filter bsd firewall and do not want that to change and don't want to tack these additional services on to my firewall. I also want to to be able to NAT/Port forward to my internal network at leisure without issues with the CF/Proxy. I do not want there to be any client side configuration at all, ie having to set proxy in web browser/other clients.

Is this possible? Are there any well documented instructions that I can follow? The more simple and more spelled out the better, as I am only slightly experienced with Linux, but am capable enough to follow well written instructions. Thanks for your time in helping me out.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Re: Transparent Proxy + Dans Guardian