Thread: Server 10.4 - extremely frustrating

Beans

Server 10.4 - extremely frustrating

Hi, I am really new to Ubuntu and not an IT pro as most of the posters seem to be. I installed server 10.10 and through similar problems to the one described below re-installed it four times before installing server 10.4 and getting the same problems. It is really frustrating.

The goal is to use ubuntu server as a media server and to add a second NTFS formatted HDD at a later date but I'm not even able to get to first base at the moment.
    Processor is AMD athlone 64, 1.5GB RAM, currently single IDE drive linux dedicated and formatted through guided install. Attached is the screenshot of the installed hardware.

Problem is that both in 10.10 and 10.4 the text entry freezes after about a minute from log in. Most of the commands using apt-get don't seem to work. You can see that I tried to install lshw-gtk and no library was found, this was after seeing a lot of posts about NVIDIA and I was trying to eliminate an issue here but again it failed.

Attempts to use Aptitude freeze before I can download anything. Updates freeze after partial downloads and partial installs as do upgrades. 10.10 updated and upgraded ok but then other commands froze so I thought 10.4 might be better.

Since I'm a bit lost with CLI and thought Ubuntu might be simpler to use if I downloaded the gnome-core but apt-get fails on this too, "not found". I have worked through the Ubuntu documentation and likely fixes don't work because the text editor freezes or the application is not found in the library.

I feel like the guy crossing the road who has to build the road first. I have checked out the hardware, done a thorough mem test and have not been able to find anything there.

Any advice would be appreciated and am willing to re-install another time before I wrap it up out of frustration.

Regards.....
    Attached Images Attached Images

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx