Thread: Bash Project

Beans

Bash Project

I recently switched started an ubuntu server in an effort to learn more about bash, scripting, networking, ect. I have most of the kinks worked out of the initial install of the server, but I can't learn anything from it unless I have a project for myself.

My friend suggested trying to make a script (from here on out, I enter total noob mode, so I could use the completely wrong words to describe things) that would periodically check a torrent site for new torrent of a show, movie, ect, and download the new torrent if one appears. It would then stream the movie/show/whatever to his xbox for him to watch.

Now, I'm not asking for help on how to do it (although that is not frowned upon ), what I am asking for is how to go about teaching it too myself. I haven't the foggiest idea what to look for tutorials on, or do research on in order to accomplish this. An analogue I can think of would be telling someone with no practical experience, expertise, or knowledge, to build a go cart. They would just see a pile of metal and a motor, and wouldn't have any idea how to go about putting it together. They wouldn't even know what welding is, and thus wouldn't be able to effectively self teach themselves to put the go-cart together. That's the feeling I'm getting when trying to think how to start this.

Any help or helpful direction-pointing is greatly appreciated.

Beans
    Distro
    Lubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Re: Bash Project

Your friend seems a bit selfish when suggesting such a project for you I think

The path to learning is very different from person to person. There are the practical ones who learns by trying out for themselves, and the theoretical ones that do a lot of reading and researching to grasp the concept first. If I gave you 25 links with reading material on bash scripting it might not be that helpful if you're a practical person.